Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
It was alright, don't know if I enjoyed the oregano combination with the grilled cheese. It wasn't terrible but wasn't the best either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
My entire kitchen smelled amazin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I made this for lunch today and had it with tomato soup. I loved the Italian twist this recipe puts on the grilled cheese sandwich. The combination of the melted cheese with the marinara sauce and the crispy fried bread were finger lickin' good! The weather here has been awful for many days in a row (lots and lots of snow and cold temperatures) and it was nice to sit down and have some comfort food. Everyone loves a good grilled cheese and it was nice to have it done a little differently for a change. This was a great idea to makeover a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this sandwich a few times, and using the following ingredients per each serving... 10 thinly slices of pepperoni on one slice of bread, followed by a nice helping of shredded mozzarella on top the pepperoni, and a light sprinkle of garlic powder and dried oregano leaves over the cheese. I buttered the outside of bread slices with Shedd's Spread Country Crock (Churn Style), and browned them in a skillet on top the stove (rather than under the broiler). I also heated the pasta sauce before making the sandwiches, then set the pasta sauce (covered) aside while making the sandwiches. After the sandwiches were done browning, I let them sit for 3 minutes before cutting them in half, and dipping them in the pasta sauce. This was a nice alternative to the grilled cheese sandwiches which are usually made with slices of processed cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
These were a nice change from traditional grilled cheese. I made 2 and did them on the stove in my fry pan. Worked well. I didn't even bother mixing the margarine with the garlic in a dish, I just sprinkled the garlic over top of the margarine on the bread and used my knife to mix it slightly. Don't do this unless you really like garlic. Sprinkled Oregano over that and fried them up. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINNIE000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niverville, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
These are fabulous with tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I only had a bite of a sandwich but my kidlets really liked them. I did make as is with the jar of vodka sauce, which I don't advise to do so. Next time, I would make these after making homemade vodka sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Thanks for the great recipe. I did not have mozzarella. I used swiss because that's what I had, I also added tomatoe. I put garlic powder on the tomatoe, then oregano on the bread. It was tasty and still had the Italian flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy JanFrancisco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
These were a nice change of pace from our regular grilled cheese. However, be sure to either cook each side for only 1 minute or put your pan on the bottom rack instead of right next to the broiler element. Next time, I'll put a basil leaf on top of the cheese. I served it with the gorgonzola tomato soup from this site, and they were great together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILKBROWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Better than GE average grill cheese. The recipe calls for more sauce than needed, so you can cut down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States