Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
I've made these several times and the sandwiches are always a big hit with my brood! Just add soup or a salad and dinner is done! I take the easy way out and make on stovetop. I melt butter in a large skillet, and spinkle in garlic powder, onion powder and oregano. I then add 3 slices of bread, sprinkle cheese on each slice and add top slices of bread. After the bottom seared, I flip. Also, I use a mixture of whatever shredded cheeses I have on hand: Italian, swiss, mozzarella and/or parmesan. If you need more sandwiches than your skillet will hold, wipe out skillet and add another round of butter and seasonings; otherwise, second round will taste burnt. I omit the marinara as my boys said 'doesn't need it'. Next time I will try with olive oil instead of butter to reduce the 'bad' fat content. Thanks for a new twist on an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eden, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
These were absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I used a slice of provolone and cheddar for each sandwich and grilled these on my George Foreman. I made some garlic butter using 1/4 cup of butter, 1 tsp granulated garlic, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tbls parmesan cheese, dash of salt and pepper and 1 tsp oregano. I mixed this together and spread it over the sandwiches before I grilled them. They came out perfect! I will definitley be making these again. Thanks NYCDAVE for a very simple but tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Really great QUICK QUICK recipe. I made the mistake of thinking that the stove would be faster for this, wish I had tried the broiler. Definitely doing that next time, or using the sandwich maker, which this is also good with....I'm beginning to think that these are the only grilled cheeses my boyfriend wants now. Be sure to use whole milk mozzarella for the best taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This is delicious.I only made 2 sandwiches because 6 was too much for little ole me. I also used wheat bread instead of white and it still tasted great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
These were a nice change from ordinary grilled cheese and were almost as easy. I used softened margarine and mixed the garlic (I used 1/2 t) and oregano into it before spreading it onto the bread. I also just cooked them on my griddle. I thought this made them much easier than using a broiler as I tend to burn rather than broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patrick Luce
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
My 8 year old loved these! Thanks for the new twist on grilled cheese! PS Make mine on the griddle instead of in the oven. I even added a little Parmesan cheese to mine and it was delish (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is the greatest grilled cheese ever! I made these with "Italian Wedding Soup I" (from this site) for dinner one night and my whole family asked for them the next day for lunch. They are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Great twist on grilled cheese, just like garlic bread with cheese in a sandwich form. I dipped em' in "pizza soup II" (from this site) and that worked great for me. Thanks NYC Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
These are good. Used regular, salted butter, Texas Toast, Italian seasonings + the garlic powder, mozzarella cheese slices and whatever spaghetti or marinara sauce I happen to have on hand. Have also pan fried these, the kids like them better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I thought a grilled cheese sandwich was a grilled cheese sandwich, but this is a nice way to mix it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States