Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
My family loves cheese and loves garlic bread, so it was a win win for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Really great QUICK QUICK recipe. I made the mistake of thinking that the stove would be faster for this, wish I had tried the broiler. Definitely doing that next time, or using the sandwich maker, which this is also good with....I'm beginning to think that these are the only grilled cheeses my boyfriend wants now. Be sure to use whole milk mozzarella for the best taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
these sandwiches were quick, yummy and easy. i didnt have mozerella cheese so i used velveeta. if you are short on time this is a good recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
GREAT twist to grilled cheese! I mixed the oregano in w/ the butter instead of sprinkling it on top. Be sure to watch them under the broiler!! Mine were done in less than a min on each side. Dipped into pizza sauce and these made for a great treat! Would make these again when we're in need for a change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2003
Marinara dipping sauce! What a great idea. Betcha can't eat just one. Just for fun,second time around,I tucked in thinly sliced onion rings and tomatoes between slices of bread(in addition to the cheese, of course). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is a great sandwich! I used mozzarella SLICES and after I took it out of the broiler cut it into eight pieces (cut in half, then each half cut into four pieces) and served them with pizza slices... honestly it was almost just like restaurant mozzarella sticks. The bread was very similar to the breading that coats the restaurant sticks. Had these with a big green salad for lunch. If you have a customizable broiler you might want to set it for about 350 or lower. I left mine on the default setting of 500 (yikes!) and burnt the first two to a crisp in about 45 seconds. The next ones turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
These were absolutely DELICIOUS!!! I used a slice of provolone and cheddar for each sandwich and grilled these on my George Foreman. I made some garlic butter using 1/4 cup of butter, 1 tsp granulated garlic, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tbls parmesan cheese, dash of salt and pepper and 1 tsp oregano. I mixed this together and spread it over the sandwiches before I grilled them. They came out perfect! I will definitley be making these again. Thanks NYCDAVE for a very simple but tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Great twist on grilled cheese, just like garlic bread with cheese in a sandwich form. I dipped em' in "pizza soup II" (from this site) and that worked great for me. Thanks NYC Dave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I used good quality sliced sourdough bread and served them with the creamy tomato basil soup from this site and a ceasar salad. They were excellent! Who would've thought that grilled cheese sandwiches could be so elegant?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
These were really great!!! Couldn't find the vodka sauce, so just used regular. Kids and husband loved them, and SO easy. I used sliced french bread, worked great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States