Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
These are sooo good! Loved the twist on the classic grilled cheese sandwich! Good without the marinara sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Garlic bread meets grilled cheese = simply delightful. Awesome buttery garlic kick to my tried-and-true grilled cheese. I used 2 slices of monterey jack along with the mozzarella. Yuummy! Will definitely make these and other varieties again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squishy muffin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I made this the first time following the recipe and now I just make it following the general idea. It's a great way to make a simple meal a bit fancier. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
These are really GOOOOOD. I made these for company and it was a big hit with every one.....I served them with a nice tomato and rice soup. These are my favorite Grilled Cheese Sandwiches now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickadeeD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
mmm so yummy! I substitute olive oil for the butter and I put the vodka sauce on the sandwich before cooking. so good!! It's also good with sliced chicken. love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skatie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Kids love these. For a variety we also put pepperoni on sandwiches & dip in marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Here’s what I had on hand. Spelt bread, fresh slicing mozzarella and Trader Joe’s Vodka Sauce. I melted unsalted butter and added oregano, garlic powder & a little garlic salt, all to taste (pretend you’re making garlic bread). I brushed the butter mix on one side of the bread and tossed it, butter side down in a heated skillet drizzled with EVOO (for a nice brown crust). Then I placed a layer of thick sliced mozzarella on and topped with another slice of bread. I brushed the tops with the butter mixture and waited for the magic. Flip and brown the other side and done. Cut in quarters for easy dipping and serve with sauce. Here’s the reason for the long review: These tasted like THE BEST MOZZARELLA STICKS WE’VE EVER HAD. The grains in the bread crisped up and mixed with the seasoned butter just like Italian bread crumbs but better (this alone would keep me from using plain white bread). The fact that I sliced the cheese so thick gave a nice ratio of cheese to bread. They where so good, we picked up more cheese and regular marinara sauce (we liked it better with this) and made them the next night, served with Italian Wedding Soup (great idea from another reviewer!). As I write this I am starting to crave another one but I must control myself because these are not exactly diet food. I don’t think they would come out like this broiled, so I probably won’t try them that way. I definitely will, however, be making these again and again. Thank you NYCDAVE, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My husband and I just finished my first attempt at this recipe. It was very good and has the potential to be excellent. I used whole wheat bread because it was what we had on hand, but next time I will use a firm white bread. Also, it was my first time using the broiler in my new apt and it cooked way too fast. Luckily I was keeping an eye on it and pulled it out in time. I just lowered the rack for the 2nd side, but next time I might try this in a stove-top skillet. Even after all that my husband, who is an extremely picky eater, said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
It was great! We used oregano, Mrs Dash & garlic powder mixed in the butter and mozzerella and sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States