Italian Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
mmm so yummy! I substitute olive oil for the butter and I put the vodka sauce on the sandwich before cooking. so good!! It's also good with sliced chicken. love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skatie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Kids love these. For a variety we also put pepperoni on sandwiches & dip in marinara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Here’s what I had on hand. Spelt bread, fresh slicing mozzarella and Trader Joe’s Vodka Sauce. I melted unsalted butter and added oregano, garlic powder & a little garlic salt, all to taste (pretend you’re making garlic bread). I brushed the butter mix on one side of the bread and tossed it, butter side down in a heated skillet drizzled with EVOO (for a nice brown crust). Then I placed a layer of thick sliced mozzarella on and topped with another slice of bread. I brushed the tops with the butter mixture and waited for the magic. Flip and brown the other side and done. Cut in quarters for easy dipping and serve with sauce. Here’s the reason for the long review: These tasted like THE BEST MOZZARELLA STICKS WE’VE EVER HAD. The grains in the bread crisped up and mixed with the seasoned butter just like Italian bread crumbs but better (this alone would keep me from using plain white bread). The fact that I sliced the cheese so thick gave a nice ratio of cheese to bread. They where so good, we picked up more cheese and regular marinara sauce (we liked it better with this) and made them the next night, served with Italian Wedding Soup (great idea from another reviewer!). As I write this I am starting to crave another one but I must control myself because these are not exactly diet food. I don’t think they would come out like this broiled, so I probably won’t try them that way. I definitely will, however, be making these again and again. Thank you NYCDAVE, what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
My husband and I just finished my first attempt at this recipe. It was very good and has the potential to be excellent. I used whole wheat bread because it was what we had on hand, but next time I will use a firm white bread. Also, it was my first time using the broiler in my new apt and it cooked way too fast. Luckily I was keeping an eye on it and pulled it out in time. I just lowered the rack for the 2nd side, but next time I might try this in a stove-top skillet. Even after all that my husband, who is an extremely picky eater, said it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
It was great! We used oregano, Mrs Dash & garlic powder mixed in the butter and mozzerella and sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
great idea! I used fresh garlic and a mixture of mozzarella and cheddar, and it was amazing! I only made one sandwich, but I should have made two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
My husband and I both really enjoyed these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amygoes211

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great way to mix up the traditional grilled cheese. Careful with the broiler. Our two settings seem to be "warm" and "blacken".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I'm going to give them 5 stars and haven't even tried it yet!!! this sounds awesome and can't wait to try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
A real hit in my home! The whole family really likes grilled cheese sandwiches and we thought this was a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States