Italian Green Bean Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is the basis for a great meal! I would highly recommend using fresh green beans and sauteing them in olive oil with some garlic and Italian seasonings for 5-7 minutes depending on how you like them cooked. I removed mine from the pan and tossed them with Parmesan cheese. I cooked the chicken right in the same pan and also added Italian seasonings and garlic to that while cooking. We love garlic. Best part about this recipe is you can customize it with any seasonings you like. Once the chicken was cooked I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes with garlic and one with Italian seasonings a good helping of fresh basil. I let it simmer for a few minutes and then added the green beans and continued to simmer for a few minutes longer to let all the flavors blend. Served this over pasta and it was awesome, and I don't even like green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I thought this needed a LOT more seasoning. Next time I may try the tomatoes with basil and oregano, as well as adding more of those as well. I served it over rotini, and I need to make sure the beans are broken into smaller pieces next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
enjoyed this dish, but like others have said - cooked as is - it is bland. It allowed me to play with flavours. Thank You..RSx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roy Newman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
After reading that this could be a little bland, I planned ahead. I used alot of garlic (minced in the jar as I am all about quick weekday cooking!) and chicken thighs (boneless/skinless for more flavor), and sauted in olive oil together til chicken was browned on both sides. Added two cans of fire roasted garlic diced tomatoes, Costco's No Salt seasoning that is similar to their old Tuscan seasonings and let simmer. Added several splashes generous splashes of balsamic vinegar which I believe gives the final product alot of flavor and more richness. You do not taste the vinegar in case you are not a vinegar fan. I ended up cooking the green beans seperate with seasoning but on the plate they mixed together for a nice combo. Very fast and easy recipe that my family loved and they thought I made from scratch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
We enjoyed this healthy and easy to prepare dish very much. Like others, I doubled the garlic b/c that's what we like. The chicken turned out a little overdone, though, so next time I'll prepare the green beans w/ the garlic and olive oil first, and move them to a plate so I can saute the chicken. I'll add the tomato mixture toward the end, and simmer for just a few minutes before serving. That should keep the chicken from overcooking. Loved this though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Very tasty and easy. I had a lot of fresh tomatoes from our garden so used those instead of canned and also added salt, pepper and some Italian seasoning. My husband said it was very good but needed a bit more seasoning. Next time more garlic and spices would probably make it a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was phenomenal! Very Easy and tasty! I wasn't so sure about adding the diced tomatoes but tried it anyways and was glad I did. It was a nice twist and made it juicier. I am a Hawaiian, Puerto Rican and season everything. So the only change I made was adding some seasonings like a little salt,pepper, onion powder, and I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried but it still came out tasty. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cherries
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I love this easy recipe! I buy a frozen meal for lunch from H.C. that is very similar so I love that I can make it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherries

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The comments were helpful. The amount of tomato is what causes the blandness. I followed suggestion of sauteing the green beans first in Garlic and oil. I added more basil when I sauted the chix and garlic and also added some zinfindel. When chix was done, I removed the chix and reduced liquid to almost nothing. Then I added the tomatoes, 1 t sugar, and some cognac. Salt & Pepper along the way. It was great with bowties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I served it over pasta because I wanted to add a carb to the meal. It was a good, easy weeknight supper, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Tender Italian Baked Chicken

This flavorful, moist baked chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States