Italian Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Very bland, idea is good, but was dissapointed in lack of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
This is a keeper!!!!! I stayed very close to this recipe with only a few exceptions; double the wine to a full cup and reduce the water by a 1/2 cup in then first part, I pureed in the blender 2-14.5 oz cans diced tomatoes and 2-14.5 cans whole peeled tomatoes instead of canned puree, just my choice. Since I made mine in the slow cooker I let it cook at consistent temp of med/high, ( checking to make sure it wasn't popping or boiling hard ) and DID NOT add the additional 6 cups of water in the second part since it retained all the water it needed. In the last hour I tilted the lid to release the steam significantly ( you could even take it off if your slow cooker/crockpot is deep enough) so it would cook down to more of a sauce/gravy like consistency. I substituted boneless pork spare ribs as well. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
First time made it as written--exception used dry red wine. Turned out great! Have made it since with modifications--personal preference. Used fressh herbs (tripled amount and added some basil)also added 28oz Italian plum peeled tomatoes-chopped. Made it a bit more chunky. Also, added 1 small can tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This recipe is great as written. I always have to make some adjustments because of preference. I browned 1 lb of hot italian sausage and added to the pork shoulder and some diced up pancetta. I did not brown the pancetta just added it to the meats. Instead of white wine, which is fine, I used two cups of red wine. Let is simmer all day long. Freezes well and gets better with age!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike millerz2112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
FANTASTIC! I read many Italian gravy recipes and kinda combined what I thought would make not only great pork, but a great sauce at the same time. Pork shoulder is the best. Sometimes I find it at my local market, sometimes I don't, so a good pork roast has worked well for me as well. I do make my own tomato puree. I use 6 large tomatoes and boil them and peel them, then blend them with the sugar. I add 2 cans of tomato paste when I add the puree. I also add like 4000% more garlic (hehe). I like to carmalize the onions with full bulb of garlic. Other than that, I follow this recipe as is and it makes wonderful sauce for any pasta and especially for Lasagne. I like it so much, it has been hand written in my personal cook book journal. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANUZUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Added a cup of sliced mushrooms, no wine, one pound of ground beef, otherwise followed the recipe. Served over polenta. Woo Hoo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
YES! This is almost exactly like the gravy we make for Christmas dinner to go over the ravioli we make. We use beef though, instead of pork. It tastes delicious and it's so good to see someone else who calls it "gravy", not "sauce"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
was good, but i substituted sausage and i also put in andoulle sausage for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wormosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Very good. I would definitely cube my pork next time, as it took a really long time to break down into manageable pieces. Also, you'll probably want to cook this uncovered for about half of the time to let the sauce reduce - it's quite watery if kept covered the entire time. Still, we enjoyed it with these changes, so I would likely make it again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States