Italian Fig Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Fantastic ! Solid 5 Stars ! I made these for a man I work for who is Italian/Sicilian and he loved them. I did not put the nuts in b/c I am allergic. I did add the suggested shot of spiced rum, juice from an orange, and part of the orange itself. I also drizzled glaze and sprinkles since they were a gift. He said they tasted like the ones his Aunt use to make. The best part is that he thought they were BETTER then his Aunt's !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
My secret is to add the grated rind of an orange to the dough and a shot of spiced run to the fig filling. These cookies are labor intensive, but fantastic. They remind my dad of the fig cookies my Italian grandma used to make when he was growing up. Family, friends and co-workers look forward to these fig cookies every Christmas and ask for them year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmg2479

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Tastes good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were good...reminded me of a fig newton. They were easy to make. I took the advice of another reviewr and cut the dough into four long strips, filled them, and cut it into pieces that way. I wasn't sure what it meant by "snipping them three times," but I used kitchen shears and did exactly that and they looked pretty. I just drizzled all of them with a confectioner's glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
excellent recipe for italian fig cookies. I added orange marmalade to mine...cause thats what my Nonnie did...but these cookies are yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wow What a fun cookie, and healthy! I left out the sugar and substituted 1/2 of the figs with prunes, left out the almonds as well. Next time I think I will use a sugar substitute and make it diabetic friendly! Thanks! Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPiddles
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome recipe. I added a teaspoon of orange zest the first time and not the second time. The first batch was much better ...the touch of orange adds complexity to the flavor. My Italian friends were very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was looking for the cookies I remember from my childhood. These are so close, and they came out amazing! The crust is so flaky and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Last year I gathered Italian recipes to make for christmas gifts. These were a hit! The dough needs to be kept refrigerated so that it does not fall apart. It kept well in a sealed container but did not last long...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberly ann
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
delicious and not difficult to make. i rolled four long strips, about 18x4 inches each, put filling along the center from end to end, then brought the long edges together and pinched to seal. i used a pizza cutter to cut cookies from each log. i got 52 cookies this way. my baking time was about 15 minutes. the tops did not come out brown, but they were not doughy at all. i used a simple sugar glaze of 1 1/2 cups confectioner's sugar, 2 TBS orange juice, and 1/4 tsp vanilla extract; and then put some pretty sprinkles on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States