Italian Fig Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Wow What a fun cookie, and healthy! I left out the sugar and substituted 1/2 of the figs with prunes, left out the almonds as well. Next time I think I will use a sugar substitute and make it diabetic friendly! Thanks! Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPiddles
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Last year I gathered Italian recipes to make for christmas gifts. These were a hit! The dough needs to be kept refrigerated so that it does not fall apart. It kept well in a sealed container but did not last long...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was looking for the cookies I remember from my childhood. These are so close, and they came out amazing! The crust is so flaky and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
Made these on a whim when figs were lying around and they are GREAT. The pastry is wonderful and flaky, could use it for other recipes, and the filling is sweet & chewy. Nothing is hard to do, the dough did not stick to the board (with a bit of flour). For anyone who does not know, the direction "snip" in step 4 means to pinch the ends together, my sister tells me. They baked great in 20 minutes and tasted delicious _without_ any icing (I didn't put any on at all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nina Mannino
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was a great recipe. The cookies are a lot like the ones my grandmother made. Goes back a long way I am 70 years YOUNG!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This recipe produces a delicious variation of the classical Sicilian fig cookie known as ( il )cuccidato . The plural form is ( i ) cuccidati . Typically the cuccidato is not curved but is formed by cutting 2-3 inch segments from the baked 18"-long fig-mixture stuffed pastry . The festive nature of the cuccidati ( normally served only during the Christmas Holiday ) can be enhanced by adding colorful sprinkles to the frosting mentioned in this recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
This was a fantastic recipe. My sicilian grandmother and great aunts would always make fig cookies at Christmas time, but I don't have their recipes. I have been on the search to find one comparable. This isn't like my Grandma's, but it is really good. My husband loved them. Funny, when it said "snip" on the recipe, I actually took scissors, and "snipped" the dough to give them a slotted look. I didn't know that it meant to pinch the dough. I thought the slotted look was neat though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberly ann
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
delicious and not difficult to make. i rolled four long strips, about 18x4 inches each, put filling along the center from end to end, then brought the long edges together and pinched to seal. i used a pizza cutter to cut cookies from each log. i got 52 cookies this way. my baking time was about 15 minutes. the tops did not come out brown, but they were not doughy at all. i used a simple sugar glaze of 1 1/2 cups confectioner's sugar, 2 TBS orange juice, and 1/4 tsp vanilla extract; and then put some pretty sprinkles on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
excellent recipe for italian fig cookies. I added orange marmalade to mine...cause thats what my Nonnie did...but these cookies are yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
These were good...reminded me of a fig newton. They were easy to make. I took the advice of another reviewr and cut the dough into four long strips, filled them, and cut it into pieces that way. I wasn't sure what it meant by "snipping them three times," but I used kitchen shears and did exactly that and they looked pretty. I just drizzled all of them with a confectioner's glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States