Italian Fig Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This will be the second year that I'm making these cookies. They were such a hit with everyone, including those who thought they didn't like figs! The whole orange gives this such a wonderful fresh taste and the apple keeps them so moist. I had a few dozen left and they were in the freezer from Christmas until July when I pulled them out for a few friends who stopped over for coffee. We couldn't believe how wonderful they still tasted. They've been hounding me to be sure I'm making them for Christmas. Now that's a memorable cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Great recipe but in my cookies I also add hazelnuts, mixed candied fruit, wine, tangerine peel, pine nuts, chocolate syrup, dates, black pepper. The rest of the ingredients are the same. All ingredients are put through the grinder & then mix well. I have brought these as gifts to my doctor's office & this year they asked if I was making more for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
These were ok. I followed the recipe almost exactly. Didn't have an orange, so I omitted that ingredient. They were time consuming, but not hard. I don't think they taste ANYTHING like fig newtons. I think they taste similar to apple pie for some reason. My kids think so also. Good recipe.... just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raspberry_waffles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Just made these and they are so delicious! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These taste exactly like the cookies that my Italian Grandmothers from Sicily would make every year for Christmas. I used walnuts instead of pecans. This recipe makes a lot of cookies. They freeze well and we enjoyed them the entire holiday season. Brings back some great childhood memories from a large Italian family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I found the dough didn't seem to have the right consistence so I will experiment but I used mincemeat instead of the figs and besides the dough not coming out right it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bklein

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clifton Heights, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This is very similar to my great great grandmother's recipe, who also brought it from Italy in the early 1900s.(we use walnuts instead of pecans, and leave out the apple, but hey, perfection is all in the eye of the beholder. The one thing that I would definitely recommend though is allowing the fig mixture to sit for a few hours to a few days before making the cookies. This allows the flavors to meld together and it makes them taste better consistently. They are well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Grinding the filling means to put it in what is called a meat or sausage grinder. The manual ones clip onto the edge of the table or cabinet and a handle is turned. There are some that have a vacuum base. There are electric ones and Kitchen Aid has one as an attachment for their mixer. A food processor will not substitute for a grinder. The texture will be different and much coarser, which is why your filling was too thick and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I love fig newtons and these sound delicious. Can't wait to try them but I want to be clear about part of the instructions...it says to "grind" the fruit? As in a food processor? Since I don't have one, I'm just rying to figure out a good alternative. Thanks for any suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States