Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This is a great recipe. It's very close to the recipe my great grandmother used to make. I substitue the almond extract with lemon extract (in the cookie batter and the glaze) to give the cookies a lemon flavor. Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I made these wonderful cookies for Easter, and have been requested to make them again for Christmas! They are exactly like the ones my Northern Italian grandmother Lena used to make. Not cloyingly sweet, they are great to serve with coffee or Chianti! So easy to make the litle knots, and it adds to the appearance. The taste is a delicious trip down memory lane for my family. A keeper! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Very good, fun to make w/my 3yr old. Tastes like a big sugar cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is the best cookie ever. We make these year round. We like to roll them out and use cookie cutters. I also add an extra teaspoon or 2 of the almond extract, it really livens it up. If u didn't like these, something must have been ommitted, I have YET to have anything but wonderful said about these. These are just so pretty when in shapes and decorated, the taste is absolutely wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTDOG6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was a good cookie, not dry which can sometimes happen with a shaped cookie. I get the impression that the frosting should be more of a glaze, otherwise, why take the time to make the cute little knots? Next time I will thin the frosting, and only make half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEVEN_STOKES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
A TRADITIONAL ITALIAN EASTER RECIPE, HAS A CAKE-LIKE TEXTURE. MY KIDS LOVE THEM. I BAKE THEM IN ONE INCH BALLS. I SPLIT THE FROSTING IN 3 AND COLORED EACH A DIFFERENT COLOR, YELLOW, PINK, BLUE, USING ONE DROP FOOD COLORING AND THEN SPRINKLED WITH THOUSANDS AND THOUSANDS NONPARIELS. VERY EASTER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
I don't have an ounce of Italian in me and I really enjoyed these cookies. I am suprised at the negative feedback of some. My mom and I had so much fun making these cookies and using pink and yellow frosting to make them more Easter-ish. The almond really makes these delish. The only thing I did differently than the recipe was the shaping of the cookie. After rolling them into balls, I smashed them flat to about a half inch... probably a lot less time cosuming than typing them in a knot. I am excited to give these away to friends in a mini-Easter basket along with the chocolate covered easter eggs on this site. Yummy Easter treat - I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
These are very good! Our neighbor that was from Italy used to make us cookies like these for Easter and Christmas. Sadly she died without writing the recipe down. This recipe was extremely close to hers but was still missing something. Also I used a glaze of powder sugar, milk, almond extract and lemon juice instead of the frosting listed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
I truly believe those that gave negative reviews did something wrong - these cookies are scrumptious and were a HUGE hit at my son's First Communion party. Even the "picky eaters" loved these. I doubled the batch and made 9 dozen, there was not one single cookie left over to be had with tea the next day! These are very easy to whip up and my son loved "helping" by dipping them in the icing (I thinned the icing a bit by adding a little more milk). I love italian cookies of all kinds but this is my new favorite. Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
It was more like sweet bread than a cookie. My daughter & husband didn't like the texture. I ended up tossing them away and making another batch of cookies for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States