Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
These cookies came out great! My boyfriend described them as "soft, fluffy, and not too rich". However, I couldn't get the hang of tying the knots and just ended up making thick round discs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These cookies were fantastic! I veganized them by using 3/4 cup coconut plain yogurt, used Coconut milk (the one in the carton, not the can), and Earth Balance for the butter. They have to bake a little bit longer- around 10 mins to get them a little firmed up. I am so impressed with the taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
My cookies looked super cute but they were horribly bland. Maybe I made an error... Thank goodness for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
As many reveiwers have stated these cookies are not very sweet without the icing, which we actually liked. I started out using just a simple powdered sugar icing, but didn't like the texture of it for these cookies. Ended up making the icing in the recipe. It was much better! I was a little disappointed that we weren't able to get them to "tie loosely into knots"-maybe if I had the time to chill the dough for a while. Made crosses and simple ribbon designs instead. We really liked the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I used to know an Italian women who made these cookies at Easter time and have been in search for a recipe which is comparable to hers and I found it!! Not only were these extremely easy to make they were also DELICIOUS! I even gave some to my parents and they said they tasted just like the ones they get from a local Italian bakery. Thanks, Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
These cookies are just like the ones my Grandma used to serve at her house when I was a little girl. Unfortunately her recipes went to the grave with her. I am so glad to find this one. I will definitely be making these for all my holidays here on out. Thanks for a great recipe and the walk down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I liked these cookies. The fact that they didn't take long at all to cook was a huge plus. I did put my dough in the fridge to harden a bit and I just rolled them into balls without making them into knots. I made half the batch with the Almond and the other half with Mint extract. I liked that the cookie was not overly sweet. I am not a huge fan of sweet things so this was a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
We love these cookies! Rolled them and then just lightly flattened them and they were perfect. The cooking time is right on. I did up the almond extract to 1 1/2 teaspoons in both the dough and icing. Tinted the frosting and sprinkled with colored sugar. Please note that the dough is not very sweet, but the icing is! Very pretty addition to our Easter table. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
I was so excited to see this recipe and read the wonderful reviews, I followed it to the letter and in my opinion they are sorely lacking in flavor. Yes the texture is cakelike which is nice but there is no taste. I wanted to test prior to making for Easter. After being so disapointed in the first batch, i thought maybe if i add some anise or lemon extract to the dough it will save it. Lemon is more springy was my thought so i opted for the lemon. Still not great at all. The anise probably would have given more of the " Italian" flavor. Also i think if I were to attempt these again, i might try an icing as oppsed to the frosting, to thick of a texture.... No offense intended here especialy after such wonderful reviews. Just not at all as i expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa D
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I really enjoyed these cookies! Traditional Italian desserts are not very sweet, just like this cookie. The icing compliments the cookie giving it a nice sweetness that isn't overpowering. These will become a tradition in our Italian home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States