Italian Easter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Ann127
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
OMG these are the best! They were easy to make and everyone at the Easter party wanted the recipe! The only thing I did a little different was I added karo-syupr (corn syupr) to the frosting to make it more of a glaze. It dried nicely. I did not use almond extract as son is allergic only used vanilla. Thank you for this recipe. Making it again for a mothers day brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann127

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LPCOCO
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
REVISED REVIEW: Growing up Italian, I've eaten these kind of cookies for decades. The cookie part is good but the frosting has too much butter. Usually, there's either no butter or very little. Without all of that butter, it's easier to frost and looks nicer. I'm going back to using no butter but the cookie part is still tasty. Also, when it's warm, the butter in this frosting softens up (especially when you try to store them in a container) and they become a sloppy mess. Typically, the recipe calls for just confectioners sugar, a tiny bit of milk, some extract and the food coloring. For those people who say the cookie is bland, it's not meant to be super sweet because it's meant to be frosted with the icing that is sweet. If the cookie was too sweet, you'd be complaining that the frosted cookie was way too sweet. It's a nice balance. You can really use any extract you want to but usually it's anise, vanilla or lemon. You can see my pic attached. It was voted one of the top photos today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The people who say that something is missing or ALMOST the same as they remember..this is because you probably had these made with ANISE EXTRACT..or oil of anise..even BETTER..thats the traditional flavor in these cookies. if you make them with that extract you will notice a big difference..put it in the glaze as well for a double punch. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
So yummy. OMG!!!! Delicious. I wish I could give it more stars. This is a REAL winner. I made only a dozen to test the recipe. I think these cookies can be made without the icing and served with a sweet hot drink. Thanks Kelly!!!! BTW: I sifted the flour and confectioners' sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Growing up in a 1st generation Italian house; we made these with easter egg (hard boiled) set in this cookie "basket".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessilala
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Love this cookies ! same recipe my grandmother used to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessilala

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent! how could anyone give these a bad review.These were a hit in my house i will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is my family's recipe reincarnated. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
They taste just like Granny's! I baked for 8 minutes on the middle rack and they turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatherineO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Yummy! My family always makes Italian cookies at Christmas. This recipe is similar to one that we normally make. I love this cookie with the almond, and the icing is delicious! I had a lot of leftover icing. Next time I will freeze the leftover icing and save it for the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States