Italian Easter Bread (Anise Flavored) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This is a wonderful bread or do I call it a cake ;) I had looked at other recipes and this one seemed to be the best and it was! I added 1 tsp of lemon zest and 1 tsp lemon juice. Great new Easter tradition for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori Vancheri Boucher
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I made this and it was wonderful. I am full Italian American and have my own version of "Easter bread". This was easy to make and really delicious. I added juice from one half fresh orange and rind to the milk mixture and it's great. I put it in a bundt on after I twisted it and baked it, it's gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was really, really good - and very easy to make! Everyone loved it and ate it up. I made it all by hand following the recipe on Easter morning. I'm not experienced in bread making and it turned out great. The dough is soft with a nice flavor. I added a simple powdered sugar glaze. The house smelled wonderful, and it was perfect with coffee. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I tried it last night. Thank you for all the tips in the reviews, I let it rise in the fridge over night, baked on a pizza stone, 20", turned oven off and left in oven for 3 min. It was the perfect texture, and baked properly. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cpoper
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Found this recipe today. I'm Italian and found this very much like my mother's bread. I added raisins - no other changes..made 2 different shapes. They both turned out beautifully! Thanks for sharing! Happy Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
this is the easiest and best italian easter bread i have ever made. just took a loaf out of the freezer and toasted it for breakfast. still as good as the day i made it 7 months ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Wyatt
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe was awesome!! I made exactly as directed and got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Fabulous! Added to my Easter menu. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe, but the bread dough was very dry. When I baked it, I watched it carefully, but the top was too brown and the inside was still doughy. I bake bread on a regular basis, so this wasn't just beginner's bad luck. I'll not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mcmechen, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Baked for Easter. Unbelievable!! I could have eaten the entire thing. I will be baking this bread through the entire year. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Bread

See how to make traditional braided Easter bread with a simple glaze.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States