Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is a delicious and light-tasting Italian dressing! Per other reviewers, I eliminated the 2 tablespoons of salt and it was just right without it. I doubled this recipe to fill a 16 oz bottle. I used balsamic vinegar which makes this extra special. It seemed like the amount of oregano was excessive but really it is perfect once mixed and poured on the salad. This dressing mixes and tastes best when the ingredients are allowed to "marry" overnight in the refrigerator. Finally a wonderful salad dressing that tastes as good as any in an Italian restaurant - we loved it! Update - Since I doubled the recipe, I used 1 tablespoon garlic salt and one tablespoon garlic powder which really gives this dressing a smooth taste with less saltiness. After making this quite a few times, adding a bit more sugar will temper down the acidic taste. I've also been adventurous and added dried, minced onion bits. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
985 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taco Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
To replicate the Zesty Good Seasons mix, add 1 tablespoon dried red and green bell pepper mix (found with the dried spices) plus 1 teaspoon dried red pepper flakes. Also, I suggest omitting the 2 tablespoons salt. You may want to add 1 tablespoon lemon pepper (not lemon pepper salt!) to increase the "zest." Experiment with balsamic vinegar, fruit juices (orange juice is great with red wine vinegar) and flavored oils. Side notes: Blend the vinegar and 2 tablespoons mix and let sit for at least 5 minutes before proceeding with the recipe. This helps dissolve the individual spices and herbs. The water is unnecessary. You only need that with the Good Seasons mix, for goodness knows what chemical reaction to occur. This dressing will not stay emulsified (mixed) when stored in the refrigerator. Just shake it up well before use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
535 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I make my own Italian dressings most of the time, but I use a ton of italian dressing mix when I cook and it gets very expensive. This recipe is great. I have used it for everything from marinading steaks to on popcorn. I think it is actually more flavorful that the packaged kind. I have not however tried to make it into dressing though. The the reviewers that complained about the lack of zestyness I would suggest adding a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes to your dressing. This should increase the zing. Hot sauce also works, but you tend to be able to taste it more the the pepper. I also decreased the salt by half. I just worried that 2 T was too much. I was right, the saltiness was perfect for us. I won't be buying any more packaged italian dressing mix from now on. Thank you Debby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I want to add an update to this review... I recently added this mix to a 50/50 blend of mayo/sour cream to make a veggie dip. It was great. I would say it would also be great for chips, or if you thin it with a little milk, it would make a great ranch dressing. Again - I left out the salt. This is the best, simplest, most useful & versatile recipe I have found for italian salad dressing on this site. It is wonderful as is, and I have made it several times with modifications per our taste of the day. I've used olive oil, canola, red wine vinegar, cider vinegar, balsamic and combinations of these. I have also substituted salt-free seasoning (just the cheap kind from Big Lots) for the salt. These changes all work well. Substituting Marjoram or Savory for the Thyme, celery seed for celery salt, 1/2 garlic powder for the garlic salt also works well. Sometimes I add a squirt or two of spicy brown mustard when mixing in the oil & vinegar. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
I loved this recipe. When spooning out the seasoning mix, I felt that I couldn't get an even amount of the granulated seasoning and flaky seasoning. The next time I make this, I will separate items like sugar, salt, onion powder, pepper, celery salt from items like basil, oregano, parsley, thyme and spoon 1T of each (granulated and flaky). The great thing about this recipe is it is a versatile Italian season mix. I spooned out this mix into a cold pasta salad, and I spooned some into a homemade pasta sauce. You don't have to use this just for salad dressing. Try it. Experiment with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is a very good dressing mix. I agree with many other reviewers, though.... I use less salt and either all garlic powder or a mix of galic salt and garlic powder. Like Stephanie, I also prepare this in a Good Season's cruet. I use the lines on the bottle (vinegar, water, oil) and 2 heaping tablespoons of this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
This was awesome! I used extra virgin olive oil in place of canola oil and used only 1 tablespoon of kosher salt. Excellent. This will be my 'staple' Italian dressing from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I'll make it again, but cut waaaay back on the salt next time. I mixed it in an old "Good Seasons" bottle--you know the kind with the little lines on the side for oil, water and vinegar? I noticed the lines measured up perfectly with the measurements given as long as I add the dressing mix first and then the vinegar, the water and oil (in that order). That makes it easier for those of you who have those bottles: no measuring! Anyway, it was too salty for us even though I used celery seed instead of celery salt. Maybe cut the salt in half, too? Just personal taste, otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Terrific flavor, I subsitute red vinegar, minimize salt & add parmesan cheese. We use as our Special House Dressing at our sub shop & everyone loves it. One problem, when making 1 gallon jars, the vinegar & oil separate so much (even after blending), we can't pour evenly into smaller shakers. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Wow! A great tasting mix where I can control the sodium! This is going to make great gifts this Christmas! Like others, I subbed garlic powder for garlic salt and celery seed for celery salt. I did use the regular salt. I am so happy to find this recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States