Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Great flavor! The dressing needs a bit more oil when mixed but it's yummy. It separates quickly though so be sure to shake well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This really is a great dressing mix. I looked it up this morning because I was making the "Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue" and I had neither the BBQ sauce nor the Italian Dressing (I made both from scratch and was very pleasantly surprised, as I mention in my review for that). I mixed up the dry ingredients as stated, and then I tried tarragon vinegar instead of the recommended white vinegar. This was really tasty. I can see why it has so many good reviews. I added some this morning to a Chuck's Famous BBQ Sauce I found elsewhere for the Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue, with my own variations on Chuck's sauce--to lessen the sweetness--and I was very happy with the results. From now on, when I need Italian dressing, I'll just refer to this one. Oh, I did follow another reviewer's suggestion to leave out the 2 tablespoons of salt. I agree that it wasn't necessary for my tastes. Others might prefer it though. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I will never buy store bought Italian dressing again. This is such a good recipe...it makes me want to eat more salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I was very happy to find this recipe. I made just as directed and thought it was great. I have not used it to make dressing for salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I love this recipe, I make it all the time, with different kinds of vinegar but my favorite is balsamic. However, DO NOT use 2 tablespoons of salt!! That is WAY too much, and I'm pretty fast and loose with the salt shaker. It has to be a mistake. And also, I tried making this with olive oil but it congeals too much in the refrigerator so stick with the canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This wasn't awesome, but I wound up liking it a lot. I've been buying various bottled Italian dressings for years, mainly out of laziness, and had never thought of looking for a mix recipe like this. I made this exactly as written - for the "dried thyme" I used thyme leaves instead of ground thyme, as I find both sold at my grocery store, and for the salt I used a sea salt. The bottled dressings I was used to have some kind of thickener, so I found this dressing, as prepared, unusually liquid, so after the first batch (2 tablespoons of dry mix, prepared per step 2), I omitted the 2 T. of water in subsequent batches, and liked the results a little better. The dressing is a bit salty, but I got used to it, and the flavors are not overwhelming, but pretty nice anyway. This is quite useful to have on hand for salads, and I may just make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was very fresh and delicious! I saved this one in my recipe box for pasta and garden salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I made this to use as a substitute for a packet of Good Seasons. I read the reviews after mixing all the dry ingredients in a bowl, and used some to season some chicken breasts before baking. To salvage the blend from being overly salty, I poured the rest of the batch through a FINE MESH colander. This easily removed the salts and sugar. I will keep this salt/sugar combo, to adjust the saltiness to my liking when I use it again. What was left in the colander was only the flakes of herbs. Made a test-sized portion of the dressing using only the dry herb blend, and oil and vinegar per the original instructions. After allowing it to sit awhile to reconstitute the dry herbs, I added less than 1/8 tsp.of the salt/sugar mix to the dressing, and found the flavor to be very satisfactory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I am rating this recipe as the recipe is given. It is so salty that it is inedible. It has got to be typo...maybe it is supposed to say 2 tsp of salt? But even that would be too much. Like others, I eliminated the salt and it is actually quite good, even for my picky Italian husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I love love love this recipe! It is my favorite homemade dressing i have ever made! If you like Italian Dressing you are sure to love this recipe! Sometimes it is a little bit strong for little kids so maybe you would want to dilute it a little bit for them. To make it a little bit healthier instead of using Canola oil i use olive oil and instead of white sugar i use sucanat. i also use apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. and i leave out the celery salt because i don't have any normally and it still tastes really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 672) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States