Italian Dressing Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Meorff
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Loved this recipe with a few changes. After reading the reviews regarding "too salty," I changed the above recipe to the following: used garlic powder, instead of garlic salt, used 1/4 tsp celery seed (did not have celery salt) and reduced the 2 tbsp salt, to 1 tsp. It was perfect. (And I LOVE salty things.) I'm glad I read the other reviews because I would have had to throw it out, or keep adding multiples of the other ingredients in order to "fix" the too salty mix. When I got through and mixed up the dressing (per the above instructions, with the water, oil, and vinegar), I went on and made two more batches of the dry mix for future use (especially since I had 10 different ingredient containers out.) I used my dressing for a fresh home grown tomato and cucumber salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meorff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This worked great as a substitute for Good Seasons dressing in a pasta salad recipe I use. However, I did modify the recipe per other reviewers (omitted the salt), so that's why I'm giving it 4 stars. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I omitted the salt and still thought it was too salty. I'm saving the recipe, but I'll use straight garlic powder instead of garlic salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Way to much salt. I cut it in half and still to much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Love this recipe! Best part is if you grow your own herbs you save so much $$!! And the herbs are fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Way too salty. Maybe it was a type O. Should have been 2 teaspoons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Handy to have on hand and tastes great, without all of the chemicals typically found in retail dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Exceedingly versatile, even if you adjust the amount of salt. I'll definitely revert to this when I want an Italian dressing and a dry packet mix is unavailable. I added a little more vinegar because I thought the proportion of vinegar to oil was a little low (If I'm not mistaken the classic proportion is about 3 parts oil to 1 part vinegar.) I used it in a doubled Zesty Southern Pasta and Bean Salad recipe, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Once you make this dressing you will never buy store bought again! Very fresh and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Minnesota, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Way too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 686) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Dressing Mix

See how to make a quick-and-easy dry Italian dressing mix.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States