Italian Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dana Yates Sahae
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These were excellent. I forgot to pick up buns for turkey burgers last week after work. So, I figured I'd make some. It was easier than I expected and my boyfriend was amazed I made homemade rolls for a Tuesday night dinner. I told him I slaved over them all day and milked it for the rest of the evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Yates Sahae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
My dad's all time favorite! Can't thank you enough for posting this one... definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were a hit at our dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
So easy! Sooooo good! For some of you, might want to add a wee bit more spices, I saw where one said it was bland. But my husband & I loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My husband would rate these rolls as a five, but I would go with a four because the taste was just slightly off. I think maybe it was a combination of the garlic salt and the yeast. I loved the texture of the rolls, and thought that part came out perfect so I will make these again sometime. I might try using real garlic instead of the garlic salt next time, I don't know, I will play around with it and see if I can change it a bit. I did like that they were very easy and pretty quick to make. And also, I can not imagine how big these rolls would be if you made them into 16 rolls...they would be huge! I didn't exactly count, but my 11x9in. baking dish was filled, so probably about 25-26 rolls. Thanks for the recipe, Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I'm not a fan of Italian Seasoning but that did not bother me with these rolls. They are very good, light and fluffy. I used one cup of sourdough starter instead of the milk and therefore only 3 teaspoons of yeast. I subbed in 1 cup of whole wheat flour along with 3 t of vital wheat gluten and 3 t of lecithin granules. I wasn't really pleased with the crunchy Parmesan cheese on top so I may skip that step next time. But that is personal preference. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I thought i misread the amount of yeast but didn't. It was a little much and they were kinda yeasty but not bad. I didn't like the tops dipped in butter then parm. All in all it was a pretty good roll but next time will skip the butter/parm topping and do a little less yeast. Would make a great addition to pasta dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I made this recipe in my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the sugar and warm milk/water for ten minutes, then added the butter, egg and dry ingredients. I made one change and that was using garlic powder instead of garlic salt (I did not want them to come out too salty) and I added a teaspoon of salt on it's own. This dough took an addtional 1 1/4 cups of flour to get it to form into a solid ball so I could knead it with my dough hook. I let it knead with the dough hook for five minutes, then set it to rise in a covered, greased bowl on a warm heating pad for an hour. After it doubled, I formed my rolls using a 1/3 cup dry measuring cup and plopped the rolls into a greased muffin tin, covered them with saran wrap and let them rise again for another half hour or so on the warm heating pad. I baked them at 400* for 12 minutes (that's when they smelled done) and right out of the oven, I brushed the melted butter mixed with a little vegetable oil over the hot rolls. They smell amazing and they taste even better. One of the best rolls I've ever had. The only reason it's not five stars was because it needed so much more additional flour than the recipe stated and I think had I used garlic salt instead of garlic powder, it would have been way too salty. I'll write up my own custom version and keep that one to make again because this roll is so good, it's a shame not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This easy dough comes out just like the picture. They are a great compliment to any italian dish. I would have included a picture, but I wasn't fast enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Marie Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These rolls were easy to make and tasted great. I did add some fresh garlic to the mix and next time may add a bit more herbs for our taste. My husband and daughter loved them. I only made 8 rolls since there are only three of us and only 1 was left over. Next time I will borrow the idea of another reviewer and make the entire recipe using 1/2 of the dough and add deli meat and cheese then bake. Brilliant idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States