Italian Cucumber Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Hi all. I'm the submitter, and just wanted to clarify a few things. First, many people do not realize that when it calls for MAYO, it means real Mayonnaise like Hellman's or Kraft's. NOT MIRACLE WHIP. Also, when you mix it up, it should sit overnight in the fridge. That part was omitted when they posted the recipe...not sure why. And last, I used Zesty Italian mix, which is much zippier than the regular. It is definitely saltier than some may like, but if the cucumber is thick enough, then it cuts the saltiness. I read where someone basically shaved the cucumber for some thin slices, but we like biting into a chunk of cucumber that's sitting on a dollop of the dip. Like another reader, we've had this stuff for breakfast on many occasions! It's THAT good! I've never had a left over when I take this to any function or event. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
WOW! You can't go wrong with this recipe! The hardest part is peeling and slicing the cukes...and how hard is that!!?!! My kids LOVED this recipe! And she wasn't kidding. I took it to a company potluck, and SHAZAM! They were gone immediately!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I like to mix in an 8oz block of cream cheese with the mayo and dressing mix to give it a little more glue to hold the cucumber onto the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I've made these twice-there have not been any left over. They are really tasty. I didn't peel the cucumber and I added a little more mayo-great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
these were amazing!!!!!! served them at a recent party as an informal snack - two trays were gone! they were even great the next morning for breakfast. fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was the tastiest cuc sandwich I've had. I chopped the cucumber very small, got rid of excess liquid and mixed right in with mayo mix. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I had a large holiday party and served these sandwiches. One small child ate three and the rest sat untouched. Although it is a simple recipe, it is unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSYF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
We had these New Year's Day and we couldn't get enough! These are sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Loved it! Made it for a pre-dinner snack for myself and my husband and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Firehouse Italian Sub Sandwiches

Watch a firehouse cook make big, meaty Italian sub sandwiches.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States