Italian Cucumber Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Hi all. I'm the submitter, and just wanted to clarify a few things. First, many people do not realize that when it calls for MAYO, it means real Mayonnaise like Hellman's or Kraft's. NOT MIRACLE WHIP. Also, when you mix it up, it should sit overnight in the fridge. That part was omitted when they posted the recipe...not sure why. And last, I used Zesty Italian mix, which is much zippier than the regular. It is definitely saltier than some may like, but if the cucumber is thick enough, then it cuts the saltiness. I read where someone basically shaved the cucumber for some thin slices, but we like biting into a chunk of cucumber that's sitting on a dollop of the dip. Like another reader, we've had this stuff for breakfast on many occasions! It's THAT good! I've never had a left over when I take this to any function or event. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was the tastiest cuc sandwich I've had. I chopped the cucumber very small, got rid of excess liquid and mixed right in with mayo mix. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
a big hit - only suggestion let the mayo & italian dressing mix sit a few hours before spreading on the sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISSYF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
I was looking for something simple to make and it was. It looked nicer than plain sandwiches. Flaver was OK, nothing special - doubt if I will make again. Everyone has different tastes - so try it yourself....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
Try another one. This one just did not have the creamy flavor I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs_Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
We had these New Year's Day and we couldn't get enough! These are sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
i took these to a party, & they were a hit! the flavor was a little strong for me, but everyone else loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
I've made these twice-there have not been any left over. They are really tasty. I didn't peel the cucumber and I added a little more mayo-great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
I had a large holiday party and served these sandwiches. One small child ate three and the rest sat untouched. Although it is a simple recipe, it is unremarkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Firehouse Italian Sub Sandwiches

Watch a firehouse cook make big, meaty Italian sub sandwiches.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States