Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Absolutely perfect! My family who doesn't like pecans, loved this cake! I didn't put the pecans in the icing, I just chopped them up pretty small and put them on the sides of the cake and on the center of the cake (a filled in circle) with some coconut around it in a circle. it looked goregeous! i don't know if anyone else knows this already, but i made it the night before, and stored it in the fridge. don't do that. if you just leave it on a cake platter with a dome over it, it stays moist and soft and light. in the fridge, it's still divine, just thicker, heavier, and less moist. ETA: I made this as a 4 tiered wedding cake and it was beautiful! I swirled the frosting and made a ribbon border with chopped pecans on each tier. It was devoured by all who came. The bride and groom said that when they ate their top tier a year later (after being frozen for a whole year) it tasted like I had just made it that same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Excellent cake and always a hit. One great tip, I usually dust the pecans in flour before adding to the batter. One faux paus, I learned to never substitute cake flour for the all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim C
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
We really liked this recipe. I used butter instead of shortening (personal preference). I followed the recipe exactly. I used Pam's flour cooking spray and had no problems with the layers coming out of the pans or breaking apart. I did have to double the frosting to have enough to put on the whole cake. The only thing that I would change next time is to use less coconut but that is just for my own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
After making this cake, I can throw out all my other cake recipes. It's the best, both in taste and texture. I recently made it for a shower (without the coconut) and several people told me it was the best cake they had ever eaten. I added a couple of extra egg yolks to give it a little more body. I've also made it with almonds instead of pecans and now I plan to make a chocolate version. Anyone who isn't successful with this cake obviously doesn't know the first thing about baking. Barbara, thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I love this cake! A co-worker said Italian Creme Cake was her favorite, so I made one for her birthday. After tasting it, another co-worker ordered one for her mother-in-law's b-day. I have never sold a cake to anyone, but she insisted and gave me 25.00. Her mother-in-law said it made her year, and she gave me 10 more!!! I don't know what cakes sell for, but I was blessed and tickled. I am not sure whose tips I read and followed, but it really made the cake wonderful and I will share them but not take the credit.....1. Make sure the eggs are room temperature (peak easier). 2. Use 5 yolks instead of 4. 3. DOUBLE the frosting and consider using half butter and half shortening. 5. Use parchment paper. 6. Make the cake the night before (or earlier in the day) let cool completely and cover but do not refrigerate. My tweaks...1. Use half vanilla and half imitation rum flavoring in the frosting. 2. Keep cake in the refrigerator to maintain fresh flavor. 3. Do not use pecan "chips", there are too many shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I was told this was THE BEST cake I've ever made- and I'm an avid baker! I added 1 tsp of coconut flavoring along with the vanilla. Very light, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Every time I make this cake I get rave reviews. It has been a consistent hit at fundraising bake sales, silent auctions, family dinners, reunions, alumni parties, and home. It has been my "signature" cake for 10 years and even the most discerning bakers I know prefer it over other Italian Cream cakes or (HORRORS!) any made with a boxed mix. I have used it for cupcakes, 9 x 13 single layer, 9-inch layers and 5-inch towers. The ONLY thing I change...I do not mix the pecans into the icing because it shreds the tender crumb of the sponge cake......I just sprinkle the pecans around the lower half of the sides and the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I have tried many italian creme cakes and have never made one so I decided to try this one and it is the best I have ever tasted!!! Everyone loved it!!! I did have to double the icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This is the absolute BEST Cake I have ever had!!! First off I HATE coconut, so was very hesitant about making it... The cake is great & I wll definitely make it over and over again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This cake turned out wonderful- my only suggestion would be to use parchment paper to line the bottom of the plans. I greased the plans, and let the cakes cool overnight-- but they still stuck, which caused my cake to come out lopsided! It was still delicious though- I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States