Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
WOW! SUPER RECIPE! We loved this cake. I made it for my son's 35th birthday. I decorated it with a ring of shaved chocolate, pecan halves and a cherry in the center. The cake came out perfect, like a professional baker made it. It was moist, delicious & beautiful. Will definitely keep this recipe. I made it exactly as written except I didn't have buttermilk, so I substituted with milk & lemon juice. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I made this for a friend's birthday and it was a huge hit. It is a very dense and rich cake. I doubled the frosting because I needed more to fully frost the cake. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This cake is awesome! I can't imagine what other reveiwers did to it to give it less than five stars! Definitely put parchment paper on the bottom of the pans though, the cakes do stick even with a generous amount of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The best cake recipe I've ever done from this website! The cake was heavy and rich. I halfed the icing recipe and I put a few tablespoons of buttermilk. It thinned it out a bit. I put it only in between the layers and on the top since it is so rich and sweet! Thanks for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this cake for New Years and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This cake was amazing! The recipe makes a fairly large cake, we served it for a birthday party with 15-10 adults. Everyone loved it! Its a nice change from the ordinary birthday cakes. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe and it worked out great as one layer in a 9 inch cake pan.I halved it becaue I was afraid I'd eat the whole thing, lol I cooked for about 40 minutes though. The cake was very moist and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very easy to make, I made it for a holiday party. Everyone loved it. I used all purpose flour so it wasn't as fluffy as cake flour but it didn't seem to change the taste just the texture. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this today for a family get together, and brought home a nearly empty plate! I did have to bake the cake a bit longer, about 5 minutes or so to make sure it was done. Also, I didn't have quite enough pecans for the frosting, I only used about a 1/2 cup and it was fine. For those folks that aren't big cream cheese fans, the flavor of it in the icing isn't strong. I was told this is a recipe I need to make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe didn't work for me, though I admit I was using an oven foreign to me. I am an experienced cake maker and this was NOT what I was looking for, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States