Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wow! I made this for Christmas eve dinner, which is always Italian food and it paired perfectly. This cake is very rich and dense, but has a great flavor. I did not change anything. The only thing to keep in mind is that it is oily, you can definitely tell there is some butter in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigAspirations

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! This cake deserves 10 stars*************.One of the best cakes I've tried in my entire life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This cake took me a very, VERY long time to make, but the reviews for it were amazing. I got compliments such as, "I daydream about that cake" and "This beats my grandma's!" This cake is wonderful. Tip: go with two layers only. You'll save on icing, and you'll be able to taste more of the cake, instead of just the cream cheese frosting. This will increase the baking time about ten to fifteen minutes, depending on your oven. Also, because of the whipped egg whites, the cake will not look done after baking, but if a toothpick comes out clean then the cake is done. Leave the cake on the counter and give it time to "deflate." The "meringue"-like egg whites will give the cake lots of moisture and will keep it from feeling heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
WOW! SUPER RECIPE! We loved this cake. I made it for my son's 35th birthday. I decorated it with a ring of shaved chocolate, pecan halves and a cherry in the center. The cake came out perfect, like a professional baker made it. It was moist, delicious & beautiful. Will definitely keep this recipe. I made it exactly as written except I didn't have buttermilk, so I substituted with milk & lemon juice. Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I made this for a friend's birthday and it was a huge hit. It is a very dense and rich cake. I doubled the frosting because I needed more to fully frost the cake. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This cake is awesome! I can't imagine what other reveiwers did to it to give it less than five stars! Definitely put parchment paper on the bottom of the pans though, the cakes do stick even with a generous amount of grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
The best cake recipe I've ever done from this website! The cake was heavy and rich. I halfed the icing recipe and I put a few tablespoons of buttermilk. It thinned it out a bit. I put it only in between the layers and on the top since it is so rich and sweet! Thanks for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made this cake for New Years and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This cake was amazing! The recipe makes a fairly large cake, we served it for a birthday party with 15-10 adults. Everyone loved it! Its a nice change from the ordinary birthday cakes. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mosher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe and it worked out great as one layer in a 9 inch cake pan.I halved it becaue I was afraid I'd eat the whole thing, lol I cooked for about 40 minutes though. The cake was very moist and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States