Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Super recipe! I followed recipe but baked in three 8 inch pans, lined with parchment paper and sprayed with Bakers Joy. No problems at all. Wrapped cakes in plastic wrap & placed in freezer for 3 days. Prepared double batch of icing, removed cakes from freezer, & viola, perfectly moist and is the best recipe for Italian Creme Cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a really good cake. I am by no means a health nut but 1/2 cup each of THREE different fats is just too much. I replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce. I also cooked the cake on 350 like most cakes call for. For the people doubling the frosting recipe... I can't imagine what they are doing with it. I am a very generous with frosting on my cakes and I still had some left over. The cake is very tender, moist, and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jereme David

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very decadent and moist. I covered it in fondant to practice for decorating a wedding cake, more frosting would have been needed if I wasn't using fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
A lovely cake! A couple of things i did as per personal taste and other reviewers' suggestions were: using only butter and no shortening, leaving out the coconut, greasing the trays really well and using wax paper lining for the trays coz they stick too much! Although the frosting is perfect for the cake, it's also a tad bit too sweet, so if this isn't for an event/party I'd suggest not frosting, you'l really appreciate the cake more! Also I used a mixture of pecan and almonds, but it's fine to leave out the nuts completely if that's what suits you! Thanks for the recipe! IT was a hit with everyone!! Love Love Love!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was very moist, very tasty. I added almond extract to the cake and the icing. It turned out to be a 3 layer cake and everyone I live with loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very tasty! Made just like the recipe says. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made this for a party last night and everyone came back for seconds. It was a huge success. BUT - I read a lot of reviews that talked about the recipe sometimes failing as well as how oily it was. So I looked at similar recipes to see how they differ and made a few changes. Here they are: 1. Let all ingredients come to room temperature. Eggs, buttermilk, etc. all mix better when they aren't cold. 2. I skipped the shortening. There is a ton of oil in this recipe and adding shortening is just too much. Mine came out great and wasn't too oily like other people talked about. 3. I've never seen a recipe that calls for adding the baking soda to the buttermilk. I wonder if this will make it clump up. I mixed it with the flour since they are both dry and will blend better. 4. The icing was just enough to cover the top of each cake layer, but not the sides. I left it that way, but if you want to cover the sides you'll need to make more icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I baked this cake exactly as indicated on the recipe with one exception. I replaced the coconut with 1 teaspoon of coconut flavoring since many members of my family do not care for flake coconut in their recipes. This is one of the top 5 recipes I am asked for. If I take it some where, I am guaranteed requests for the recipe. It is excellent if refrigerated for a while before serving. My recommendation is that you read the recipe in its entirety before you begin to mix. The mixture of ingredients is a bit different from most recipes. Try this recipe - you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
OMG! I just replaced my all time favorite cake (Midnight Cake) with this one. It is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this for a birthday cake and it turned out so well. I did make a few changes. Instead of making a layer cake, after reading about how many problems others had with the cake sticking to the pan, I used a 9x13 pan. I did not have any coconut so I used some shredded carrot, 1 1/2 large carrot and I did not have any nuts, in the frosting I added 1/2 t. almond extract. For the frosting I used fat free cream cheese and for all the sugars I use splenda, only needing 2 cups of it for the frosting! This turned out to be a very rich tasty cake and the amount of frosting was very generous to frost the top with. If I had any nuts I would have sprinkled some on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States