Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used this recipe for a cattering job and it was awesome!!! It was rich, creamy and moist! The clients went wild! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Hickman Dunnam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Westhoff, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious and moist! I toasted the pecans before adding them to the cake and to the frosting...this really added to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
It was a bit too rich, but I should have expected it. Taste was great. I would put less fats (i.e. butter oil) in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I found this recipe by accident and compared it to my Mother's recipe and found that they were very similar. We had an Italian Cream Cake every year for Mom's birthday and this was the first year without her or the cake. It is an excellent cake that is well worth the work and trouble. Be sure to follow the directions and beat your egg whites for several minutes to add extra air to make the cake lighter. I am always surprised that my kids love this cake; especially since they hate coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This cake looks fabulous!! I prefer almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Super recipe! I followed recipe but baked in three 8 inch pans, lined with parchment paper and sprayed with Bakers Joy. No problems at all. Wrapped cakes in plastic wrap & placed in freezer for 3 days. Prepared double batch of icing, removed cakes from freezer, & viola, perfectly moist and is the best recipe for Italian Creme Cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a really good cake. I am by no means a health nut but 1/2 cup each of THREE different fats is just too much. I replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce. I also cooked the cake on 350 like most cakes call for. For the people doubling the frosting recipe... I can't imagine what they are doing with it. I am a very generous with frosting on my cakes and I still had some left over. The cake is very tender, moist, and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jereme David

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very decadent and moist. I covered it in fondant to practice for decorating a wedding cake, more frosting would have been needed if I wasn't using fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
A lovely cake! A couple of things i did as per personal taste and other reviewers' suggestions were: using only butter and no shortening, leaving out the coconut, greasing the trays really well and using wax paper lining for the trays coz they stick too much! Although the frosting is perfect for the cake, it's also a tad bit too sweet, so if this isn't for an event/party I'd suggest not frosting, you'l really appreciate the cake more! Also I used a mixture of pecan and almonds, but it's fine to leave out the nuts completely if that's what suits you! Thanks for the recipe! IT was a hit with everyone!! Love Love Love!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was very moist, very tasty. I added almond extract to the cake and the icing. It turned out to be a 3 layer cake and everyone I live with loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States