Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Except for making this a 2 layer cake instead of a 3 (so I cooked it for longer of course) this cake completely FELL APART! It fell apart beyond just what might happen by making the layers thicker. None of it stayed together. The flavor, however, is delcious. I used 1 and a half icings, but I was also trying to glue cake pieces back together so I don't know how much it really needs. Also, the icing really only needs 2.5 cups sugar per 8 oz of creme cheese. 4 cups would be way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was the first cake I've baked in my life but I promised my sister I will bake her a cake for her B-day party! I was shocked how inlove everyone was with it!! Amazing! I have to make it again for Christmas :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
BARBARA OMGEEEEEEE the cake was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner everyone loved it. Fluffy moist, it was my first cake from scratch that i ever made I'm so proud of myself it came out awesome. I also double the icing. They didn't believe me when i said i made it. *THIS IS A KEEPER*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvfood
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this for my grandma, who loves this type cake, and she loved it. I tried to keep pretty true to the recipe, but did add an extra egg like the others, used only 1/4 c veg oil, 1 c margarine instead of butter and shortening, and I left the walnuts (sub) out of the frosting in order to decorate with. I would try this with only 2T of veg oil next time, as there was only the slightest sink in the cake after cooling. I used 2 9-inch pans and made a 4 layer cake, so I doubled the recipe of icing but 1 1/2 of it would have been more than enough. I tried using non-stick spray, a circle of wax or parchment paper layered on the bottom, then spray again and coat with flour. I then put them in the fridge to ease the stacking and cutting. It took a lil prying around the edges, but they came out pretty easy, and didn't stick to the pan excessively. Everyone loved this cake, and although it was a bit tedious to make, it was worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This cake was very good except I only got 2 layers out of it and I doubled up on the icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used this recipe for a cattering job and it was awesome!!! It was rich, creamy and moist! The clients went wild! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Hickman Dunnam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Westhoff, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Delicious and moist! I toasted the pecans before adding them to the cake and to the frosting...this really added to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
It was a bit too rich, but I should have expected it. Taste was great. I would put less fats (i.e. butter oil) in it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I found this recipe by accident and compared it to my Mother's recipe and found that they were very similar. We had an Italian Cream Cake every year for Mom's birthday and this was the first year without her or the cake. It is an excellent cake that is well worth the work and trouble. Be sure to follow the directions and beat your egg whites for several minutes to add extra air to make the cake lighter. I am always surprised that my kids love this cake; especially since they hate coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This cake looks fabulous!! I prefer almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States