Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Marie Taylor
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This cake was perfect. Some of the other reviews said it needed double the icing, but for me it was perfect just the way it is following the recipe exactly. There was even enough frosting to do some pretty beaded piping around the edges. The cake tasted even better than it looked. It was even better the next day also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This recipe is also on Penzeys Spices magazine! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheryl
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I knew I was going to love this cake as soon as I licked the batter off of the spoon!!!! I followed the recipe as is and it came out perfectly. Very moist, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This cake recipe is okay. With that being said, I will not make this recipe again simply because of the 1 1/2 cups of fat (butter, oil, shortening). I will stick with my standard recipe which calls for 1 cup of salted butter. I was a little worried about the taste/density of this cake when I popped the cakes out of the baking pans and an oily sheen was noticeable on the cakes and my hands. Taste is good. The icing portion I tweaked to make my own. I used 1 cup butter, 8oz cream cheese, 3 cups confectioner's sugar, 2 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp of milk and left the pecans out...used them to decorate with after. All in all I prefer my usual recipe, but as with every recipe it's all about personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by opusthecat
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Outstanding cake. Was fairly easy to make, followed the directions and came out delicious and moist. Because the nuts in the frosting make it a bit rough, make sure to freeze the cake layers before frosting so they don't tear up from the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opusthecat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tink
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a delicious recipe!!! I only had two cake pans, so since the layers were going to be a little thicker I turned the heat down to 300 after 20 minutes or so and cooked them an additional 15 to 20 min till the center was done. Im not a big fan of buttercream frosting so I added another half a package of cream cheese and cut back on the confectioners' sugar, to my taste. The icing was much more creamy and less sugary and stiff. I had walnuts on hand so I crushed them used those instead of pecans and it turned out just as delicious. A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this cake for a dinner party I hosted. It got rave reviews. I will defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by martese houle
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have made this cake twice in two weeks and have to do another for next weekend cause someone else wants it for thier birthday too! I use all butter instead of the shortening, and 5 eggs. I also found that dropping the temperature to 300 degrees for the last ten minutes or so of cooking lets the inside finish cooking without the outside getting too dark. I just use two 9 " cake pans and plit them to make it four layers instead of three. I keep the creamcheese amount in the icing the same but add more icing sugar thinned to the right consistency with milk. till I get an amount that I thiink will work for all 4 layers. Also an easy way to get the nuts on the sides is to just ice the sides first, the roll the cake through a try of nuts, instead or trying to press them on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by martese houle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Thomas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I made this for work, got lots of compliments. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amberleigh
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this to begin a series of cake possibilities for my wedding -- I have stopped looking! This is the one! All people who tried it went for seconds and licked their plates. I doubled the icing recipe, but only put six cups of powered sugar instead of eight -- all agreed that any sweeter would have been too sweet. This was a sweet success! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberleigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hills, California, USA
Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States