Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by lmsuggs
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I made this cake for a New Years Eve party, everyone enjoyed. Lots of compliment. Well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Really good cake but I think next time I make it that I will make it a two layer (so you can really enjoy the cake itself)and reduce the amount of coconut in the cake. I think that with 3 layers it is just too much icing involved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Linn, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This cake for some reason is a bit time consuming. However it is very delicious! I did not add coconut because the bday girl did not like it but I'm glad I didn;t because with the nuts alone, it was too much! Althoug we're nut lovers we all agreed the nuts took the show away from the cake itself that we could barely feel the cake texture. Next time i'll add halff the nuts and half the coconut...maybe even less. The texture of the cake was more on the muffin side but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Divine! Add coconut to icing and add a little more flavor.,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I am a rookie baker, but took this one on and it was loved by all. I followed recipe for cake precisely using the parchment paper which worked great. I did make make more frosting then suggested (1.5) and substituted pecan in the frosting with heath bar crumbles which really added depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This cake was a big hit. I made sure my nuts were processed into very fine chunks in the food processor because I don't like big pieces in cake. Also, when icing cake, I did not mix coconut and nuts into icing, but sprinkled coconut on top and covered sides with crushed nuts. Came out very pretty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have a grandchild that can't eat nuts. I replaced the nuts with honeycomb candy, or Butterfinger candy in small pieces. Use a knife to chopped the candy. It looks pretty and gives a little different taste to the frosting. Don't put them in the cake itself just works on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yumms
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Don't let this happen to you - use parchment paper! (see pic.) Otherwise it is totally delish :) Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
It takes a little time to make this cake but the end result is divine. It's truly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States