Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This cake was amazing! The recipe makes a fairly large cake, we served it for a birthday party with 15-10 adults. Everyone loved it! Its a nice change from the ordinary birthday cakes. I will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mosher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe and it worked out great as one layer in a 9 inch cake pan.I halved it becaue I was afraid I'd eat the whole thing, lol I cooked for about 40 minutes though. The cake was very moist and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very easy to make, I made it for a holiday party. Everyone loved it. I used all purpose flour so it wasn't as fluffy as cake flour but it didn't seem to change the taste just the texture. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this today for a family get together, and brought home a nearly empty plate! I did have to bake the cake a bit longer, about 5 minutes or so to make sure it was done. Also, I didn't have quite enough pecans for the frosting, I only used about a 1/2 cup and it was fine. For those folks that aren't big cream cheese fans, the flavor of it in the icing isn't strong. I was told this is a recipe I need to make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe didn't work for me, though I admit I was using an oven foreign to me. I am an experienced cake maker and this was NOT what I was looking for, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was the best cake I have ever had in my life,everybody loved it and it was fun to make and yes I will make this cake again. Now lets get to the cream cheese frosting it was to die they both were just so good and I must say if I could say 5 stars no this has to be more like 105 stars atlease I think so and I Think you so much for your post. TERRY137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It was good at first, but after a few days it was amazing. The cream really got absopbed and it was a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
moist/the coconut i half it,plust the pecans i half;i just added after i place the topping a 1/4, or just enough to cover of a cup of pecan on the side, and place just a little coconut on top of the cake(enough to cover) i love how it taste and it melts in you're mouth,i could eat it without the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Turned out wonderful. I made it exactly how the recipe says, only I put the pecans on top of the icing (top & sides) instead of in the icing. It was beautiful and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This cake is phenomenal. I'm definitely going to add it to my keep box. I am overly picky when it comes to finding cake recipes from scratch that I like so, THANK YOU for posting this. I would make one suggestion which is to use Cake Flour in place of the all-purpose flour. The difference in the gluten content in the cake flour, it will give a lighter fluffier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States