Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
Dry & dense. Maybe it's a sign I should just stop trying :-( Frosting was good though. So was the cream cheese frosting mentioned in a couple of the reviews. I'll give it one more star because Cassandra said she liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I made Italian Creme Cakes for years, but lost my recipe. This looked the most like what I remembered, so I tried it. I followed the directions to a T, it did not rise well and all 3 layers tore up when taking them out of the pan. I was very disappointed and will look for another recipe. I did taste it, and the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for our Christmas cake instead of the traditional fruit cake and it came out wonderful!!! Everyone asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This cake is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burkesville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is identical to my Grandmother's that I have used for years, EXCEPT her recipe does not have the oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Amazing cake and a big hit for a birthday!! I really surprised myself with this one! The cake and icing both tasted great but combined together it was just fantastic. I will definitely make this whenever I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This one calls for 1/2 C. more of fat than other Italian cream cake recipes. I am annoyed at the wasted time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tried and rated! My one change was to beat the whites for the fold into batter BEFORE the cake is made into a batter. Fold in is easy and you don't have to wash beaters to complete cake. Recipe is wonderful Barbra. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I liked the flavor of this cake, but I had a lot of problems with it. Even though I used high quality pans and greased them very well, it still stuck in the pan and came out in several pieces. I had to sort of cobble it back together with the icing. If I made it again I would definitely both grease and flour the pan and I would also use parchment paper. There also wasn't enough icing to frost the sides of the cake. Next time I would double the icing recipe to be sure to have enough. Since it was so crumbly it was difficult to frost, but once it was all together, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe makes a light and fantastic cake! The egg whites and the buttermilk make the difference from other recipes. I make a cream cheese buttercream frosting for it that also has heavy whipping cream that puts it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tbaxte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States