Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
This recipe is identical to my Grandmother's that I have used for years, EXCEPT her recipe does not have the oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Amazing cake and a big hit for a birthday!! I really surprised myself with this one! The cake and icing both tasted great but combined together it was just fantastic. I will definitely make this whenever I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This one calls for 1/2 C. more of fat than other Italian cream cake recipes. I am annoyed at the wasted time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Tried and rated! My one change was to beat the whites for the fold into batter BEFORE the cake is made into a batter. Fold in is easy and you don't have to wash beaters to complete cake. Recipe is wonderful Barbra. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I liked the flavor of this cake, but I had a lot of problems with it. Even though I used high quality pans and greased them very well, it still stuck in the pan and came out in several pieces. I had to sort of cobble it back together with the icing. If I made it again I would definitely both grease and flour the pan and I would also use parchment paper. There also wasn't enough icing to frost the sides of the cake. Next time I would double the icing recipe to be sure to have enough. Since it was so crumbly it was difficult to frost, but once it was all together, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe makes a light and fantastic cake! The egg whites and the buttermilk make the difference from other recipes. I make a cream cheese buttercream frosting for it that also has heavy whipping cream that puts it over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tbaxte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a delicious cake! I made I for the first time for a funeral dinner and everyone raved! I did follow directions to a "T" - but it fell apart when it was cut. Any ideas why? I will make again, but would prefer that it cut more easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Mmmm!!! This was my very first ever homemade cake! (I have only made boxed cakes in the past.) It wasn't very hard at all and tasted heavenly! I sprayed my pans with Pam with flour. The cakes did stick to the pans for a bit, but after tapping on the bottoms while the pan was upside down on a plate, the cakes came right out. I will make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMonster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The cake is delicious! My big complaint though is that the cake falls apart when getting it out of the pan. I didn't remember it doing this the first time that I made it, but when I tried getting the cakes out of the pan it all came back to me. I made the cake for my husbands holiday party, and I have to say that I'm embarrassed for him to take it because it is really ugly. Hopefully, the taste will compensate for the looks...that is IF they will even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
After reading almost all of the reviewer's suggestions, I decided to dive right in and make this for my brother's birthday. I followed the suggestions for using parchment paper, but didn't for adding the chopped nuts to the cake. He loves pecans. It did make it difficult to cut without making a big mess. I also added a little coconut to the icing along with some more chopped pecans. His review was that it is a keeper recipe, an excellent cake and wonderful icing! BTW, he knew without asking if it was a cake made by scratch! It was that good. The rest of the family wasn't able to try the cake, so now I'm committed to a promise of making another one soon. I think I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States