Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
ugh! I was SO looking forward to this! My friends & I LOVE Italian Creme Cake and I decided to make one for a special get together we were having tonight. I bake cake from scratch regularly, and followed this recipe to the letter. First of all, it is very time consuming, but fine, second, it didn't rise AT ALL and even though I very generously greased the pan it stuck SO bad I can't even come close to repairing it. It is a disaster, and frankly, it doesn't even taste all that good. Oh, and it took about 48 minutes to cook rather than 25-30...so let down by this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHCAMP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Maybe user error, but it took awhile for the cake to get done in the middle and was really fragile. I ended up doing a crumb layer of buttercream frosting before doing the cream cheese frosting. That may have affected the taste. EXTREMELY good and very RICH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFROSTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
YU-MMY!!! This cake is SO moist and flavorful and not hard to make at all:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
A moist, delicious cake. It's not overly sweet, but the frosting does make it rich. It's time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
A lot of the previous reviews seemed to be divided between those who loved this recipe and those who had problems with it. I dismissed the problem reviews thinking I'd be fine, but I had the same problems. The cake stuck to the pans (I greased it generously and didn't flour, as the recipe states). I salvaged two layers and made the icing. I don't know how some reviewers doubled the recipe because even if I had used three layers, I think it would have been more than enough. For some reason the cake tasted like a banana cake and I think it may be because of the pecans and cream cheese icing's strong taste. I'm usually the type who loves a baking challenge, but I won't be making this again. The taste just wasn't worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I took this cake to work and almost everyone told me how much they loved it. Some people even went back for thirds. I'm giving it four stars because I didn't like it too much. Maybe it was the coconut I used. Does sweetened coconut make a difference in this recipe? That's all I could find. I would make this recipe again but maybe tweak it a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Fullerton, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Moist, light and delicious. I was trying to duplicate a cake we had tasted in a local restaurant, and this is pretty close. I didn't change anything. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This receipe creates a fantastic tasting cake. The next time I use it, however, I will probably increase the frosting recipe by at least 1/2. There just wasn't quite enough for a three layer cake, in my opinion. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Turn out fantastic....it was a big hit...will definitely add it to my list of excellent desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yum. This is so good!! I thought it might be difficult but the steps were really easy to follow. I'll try this one again and keep it for myself instead of taking it to a party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States