Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Moist, light and delicious. I was trying to duplicate a cake we had tasted in a local restaurant, and this is pretty close. I didn't change anything. Will definitely make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This receipe creates a fantastic tasting cake. The next time I use it, however, I will probably increase the frosting recipe by at least 1/2. There just wasn't quite enough for a three layer cake, in my opinion. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Turn out fantastic....it was a big hit...will definitely add it to my list of excellent desserts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA
Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yum. This is so good!! I thought it might be difficult but the steps were really easy to follow. I'll try this one again and keep it for myself instead of taking it to a party :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made this cake yesterday to take to work, and I have never had so many compliments on a cake in my life. There was nothing left but the crums. This is a great recipe. I fixed it just like the recipe calls for. If you want to be a hit, make this cake. You will become popular very fast..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I found this cake to be very oily. While the texture was fine, albeit on the dense side, even touching the cake left a greasy shine to your fingers. There are plenty of other cake recipes that don't call for a cup and a half of fat, I'll skip trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I made this a while back and it was so delicous. I halved the recipe, not knowing what to expect and should have kept it full! The combination of flavors was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Wow! I made this for Christmas eve dinner, which is always Italian food and it paired perfectly. This cake is very rich and dense, but has a great flavor. I did not change anything. The only thing to keep in mind is that it is oily, you can definitely tell there is some butter in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigAspirations

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Absolutely delicious! This cake deserves 10 stars*************.One of the best cakes I've tried in my entire life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This cake took me a very, VERY long time to make, but the reviews for it were amazing. I got compliments such as, "I daydream about that cake" and "This beats my grandma's!" This cake is wonderful. Tip: go with two layers only. You'll save on icing, and you'll be able to taste more of the cake, instead of just the cream cheese frosting. This will increase the baking time about ten to fifteen minutes, depending on your oven. Also, because of the whipped egg whites, the cake will not look done after baking, but if a toothpick comes out clean then the cake is done. Leave the cake on the counter and give it time to "deflate." The "meringue"-like egg whites will give the cake lots of moisture and will keep it from feeling heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States