Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I found this recipe by accident and compared it to my Mother's recipe and found that they were very similar. We had an Italian Cream Cake every year for Mom's birthday and this was the first year without her or the cake. It is an excellent cake that is well worth the work and trouble. Be sure to follow the directions and beat your egg whites for several minutes to add extra air to make the cake lighter. I am always surprised that my kids love this cake; especially since they hate coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This cake looks fabulous!! I prefer almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Super recipe! I followed recipe but baked in three 8 inch pans, lined with parchment paper and sprayed with Bakers Joy. No problems at all. Wrapped cakes in plastic wrap & placed in freezer for 3 days. Prepared double batch of icing, removed cakes from freezer, & viola, perfectly moist and is the best recipe for Italian Creme Cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a really good cake. I am by no means a health nut but 1/2 cup each of THREE different fats is just too much. I replaced the vegetable oil with applesauce. I also cooked the cake on 350 like most cakes call for. For the people doubling the frosting recipe... I can't imagine what they are doing with it. I am a very generous with frosting on my cakes and I still had some left over. The cake is very tender, moist, and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jereme David

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Very decadent and moist. I covered it in fondant to practice for decorating a wedding cake, more frosting would have been needed if I wasn't using fondant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
A lovely cake! A couple of things i did as per personal taste and other reviewers' suggestions were: using only butter and no shortening, leaving out the coconut, greasing the trays really well and using wax paper lining for the trays coz they stick too much! Although the frosting is perfect for the cake, it's also a tad bit too sweet, so if this isn't for an event/party I'd suggest not frosting, you'l really appreciate the cake more! Also I used a mixture of pecan and almonds, but it's fine to leave out the nuts completely if that's what suits you! Thanks for the recipe! IT was a hit with everyone!! Love Love Love!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was very moist, very tasty. I added almond extract to the cake and the icing. It turned out to be a 3 layer cake and everyone I live with loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Very tasty! Made just like the recipe says. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I made this for a party last night and everyone came back for seconds. It was a huge success. BUT - I read a lot of reviews that talked about the recipe sometimes failing as well as how oily it was. So I looked at similar recipes to see how they differ and made a few changes. Here they are: 1. Let all ingredients come to room temperature. Eggs, buttermilk, etc. all mix better when they aren't cold. 2. I skipped the shortening. There is a ton of oil in this recipe and adding shortening is just too much. Mine came out great and wasn't too oily like other people talked about. 3. I've never seen a recipe that calls for adding the baking soda to the buttermilk. I wonder if this will make it clump up. I mixed it with the flour since they are both dry and will blend better. 4. The icing was just enough to cover the top of each cake layer, but not the sides. I left it that way, but if you want to cover the sides you'll need to make more icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I baked this cake exactly as indicated on the recipe with one exception. I replaced the coconut with 1 teaspoon of coconut flavoring since many members of my family do not care for flake coconut in their recipes. This is one of the top 5 recipes I am asked for. If I take it some where, I am guaranteed requests for the recipe. It is excellent if refrigerated for a while before serving. My recommendation is that you read the recipe in its entirety before you begin to mix. The mixture of ingredients is a bit different from most recipes. Try this recipe - you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States