Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Mmm this was very good. One of layers fell apart a little but i just put it back together, it was no problem. The others came out great and it was delish! I love pecans, so i thought the amount of pecans was perfect. But my mother (who is not a big fan) loved the cake but would have liked a little less pecans. Thanks for sharing! Soo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was an awesome recipe! I took it to work and it was gone within 30 minutes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
THe center of the cakes fell-all three of them! I live in Denver so I'm at high altitude. I will try to leave out the shortening next time I guess! The flavor is amazing, and I'm sure everyone will love it, but it's a mess trying to piece it together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Except for making this a 2 layer cake instead of a 3 (so I cooked it for longer of course) this cake completely FELL APART! It fell apart beyond just what might happen by making the layers thicker. None of it stayed together. The flavor, however, is delcious. I used 1 and a half icings, but I was also trying to glue cake pieces back together so I don't know how much it really needs. Also, the icing really only needs 2.5 cups sugar per 8 oz of creme cheese. 4 cups would be way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EACline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was the first cake I've baked in my life but I promised my sister I will bake her a cake for her B-day party! I was shocked how inlove everyone was with it!! Amazing! I have to make it again for Christmas :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
BARBARA OMGEEEEEEE the cake was a hit at my Thanksgiving dinner everyone loved it. Fluffy moist, it was my first cake from scratch that i ever made I'm so proud of myself it came out awesome. I also double the icing. They didn't believe me when i said i made it. *THIS IS A KEEPER*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvfood
Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this for my grandma, who loves this type cake, and she loved it. I tried to keep pretty true to the recipe, but did add an extra egg like the others, used only 1/4 c veg oil, 1 c margarine instead of butter and shortening, and I left the walnuts (sub) out of the frosting in order to decorate with. I would try this with only 2T of veg oil next time, as there was only the slightest sink in the cake after cooling. I used 2 9-inch pans and made a 4 layer cake, so I doubled the recipe of icing but 1 1/2 of it would have been more than enough. I tried using non-stick spray, a circle of wax or parchment paper layered on the bottom, then spray again and coat with flour. I then put them in the fridge to ease the stacking and cutting. It took a lil prying around the edges, but they came out pretty easy, and didn't stick to the pan excessively. Everyone loved this cake, and although it was a bit tedious to make, it was worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This cake was very good except I only got 2 layers out of it and I doubled up on the icing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I used this recipe for a cattering job and it was awesome!!! It was rich, creamy and moist! The clients went wild! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivian Hickman Dunnam

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States