Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
this cake was amazing. so fluffy, moist, and just perfect! i however dislike the texture of coconut so that was omitted... also, i saw how many reviewers mentioned having to double the amount for the icing...this recipe does actually yield plenty of icing...you just have to beat it long enough in the mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
After all of the great reviews here, I was very disappointed with this cake. Here are 2 very big hints when making this cake: 1) 4 cups of icing sugar makes the icing way TOO SWEET! Try adding one cup at a time until you feel it's sweet enough. 2)Make sure you not only grease the pans but also sift some flour on the pans because the cake still stuck to the heavily-greased pan for me and ruined it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I love this cake! A co-worker said Italian Creme Cake was her favorite, so I made one for her birthday. After tasting it, another co-worker ordered one for her mother-in-law's b-day. I have never sold a cake to anyone, but she insisted and gave me 25.00. Her mother-in-law said it made her year, and she gave me 10 more!!! I don't know what cakes sell for, but I was blessed and tickled. I am not sure whose tips I read and followed, but it really made the cake wonderful and I will share them but not take the credit.....1. Make sure the eggs are room temperature (peak easier). 2. Use 5 yolks instead of 4. 3. DOUBLE the frosting and consider using half butter and half shortening. 5. Use parchment paper. 6. Make the cake the night before (or earlier in the day) let cool completely and cover but do not refrigerate. My tweaks...1. Use half vanilla and half imitation rum flavoring in the frosting. 2. Keep cake in the refrigerator to maintain fresh flavor. 3. Do not use pecan "chips", there are too many shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marie Taylor
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This cake was perfect. Some of the other reviews said it needed double the icing, but for me it was perfect just the way it is following the recipe exactly. There was even enough frosting to do some pretty beaded piping around the edges. The cake tasted even better than it looked. It was even better the next day also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This recipe is also on Penzeys Spices magazine! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheryl
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I knew I was going to love this cake as soon as I licked the batter off of the spoon!!!! I followed the recipe as is and it came out perfectly. Very moist, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This cake recipe is okay. With that being said, I will not make this recipe again simply because of the 1 1/2 cups of fat (butter, oil, shortening). I will stick with my standard recipe which calls for 1 cup of salted butter. I was a little worried about the taste/density of this cake when I popped the cakes out of the baking pans and an oily sheen was noticeable on the cakes and my hands. Taste is good. The icing portion I tweaked to make my own. I used 1 cup butter, 8oz cream cheese, 3 cups confectioner's sugar, 2 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp of milk and left the pecans out...used them to decorate with after. All in all I prefer my usual recipe, but as with every recipe it's all about personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by opusthecat
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Outstanding cake. Was fairly easy to make, followed the directions and came out delicious and moist. Because the nuts in the frosting make it a bit rough, make sure to freeze the cake layers before frosting so they don't tear up from the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by opusthecat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tink
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This is a delicious recipe!!! I only had two cake pans, so since the layers were going to be a little thicker I turned the heat down to 300 after 20 minutes or so and cooked them an additional 15 to 20 min till the center was done. Im not a big fan of buttercream frosting so I added another half a package of cream cheese and cut back on the confectioners' sugar, to my taste. The icing was much more creamy and less sugary and stiff. I had walnuts on hand so I crushed them used those instead of pecans and it turned out just as delicious. A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this cake for a dinner party I hosted. It got rave reviews. I will defintely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States