Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I was told this was THE BEST cake I've ever made- and I'm an avid baker! I added 1 tsp of coconut flavoring along with the vanilla. Very light, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made this cake without the almonds or the coconut as a base for a strawberry flavoured poke cake with instant pudding vanilla icing for my mother's birthday, and it was a hit with the entire family, both young and old (and those in between). I received many compliments on it and was asked for the recipe. I'm anxious to try the full recipe next time. I lined my pans with parchment paper as suggested by others and had no difficulties with sticking, however I did have to leave it in for a few minutes longer than called for, but that was probably my oven at fault, not the instructions. Thank you for a great new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I am a novice baker, but this cake came out wonderfully. I received many compliments and am making another this week!! I did leave out the coconut since I have some finicky eaters in my crowd. This cake was moist and delicious. I greased and floured my pans and only had issues with one sticking, but I am pretty sure it stuck because of my impatience with letting things cool properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Update: my husband has just dubbed this his favorite cake in the whole world.... :-) Husband's first word was "WOW!" We both gave this five stars. Very moist and yummy. I baked it in a 10" spring form pan and then sliced the cooled cake in half to fill. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This cake turned out wonderful- my only suggestion would be to use parchment paper to line the bottom of the plans. I greased the plans, and let the cakes cool overnight-- but they still stuck, which caused my cake to come out lopsided! It was still delicious though- I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Absolutely perfect! My family who doesn't like pecans, loved this cake! I didn't put the pecans in the icing, I just chopped them up pretty small and put them on the sides of the cake and on the center of the cake (a filled in circle) with some coconut around it in a circle. it looked goregeous! i don't know if anyone else knows this already, but i made it the night before, and stored it in the fridge. don't do that. if you just leave it on a cake platter with a dome over it, it stays moist and soft and light. in the fridge, it's still divine, just thicker, heavier, and less moist. ETA: I made this as a 4 tiered wedding cake and it was beautiful! I swirled the frosting and made a ribbon border with chopped pecans on each tier. It was devoured by all who came. The bride and groom said that when they ate their top tier a year later (after being frozen for a whole year) it tasted like I had just made it that same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
I made this for a christmas party for my family and everyone LOVED it. I had so many asking for the recipe. I left out the coconut bc it has preservatives in it that my mom can't have, and it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This was my first attempt at baking ANY cake from scratch. It was FABULOUS! I took it to a work potluck and everyone was amazed at my creation--THANKS for publishing such a great recipe. It took a bit of time to make but was well worth it. Several reviews suggested that the cake tasted better the 2nd or 3rd day but mine was gone the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Moist and easy! I actually cut back on the powdered sugar when I'm making the frosting, as I do not like frosting that are too sweet. Additionally, I do not add the nuts as my family does not like nuts. I receive rave reviews everytime I bake this cake and everyone wants to know where I got the receipe from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I have tried many italian creme cakes and have never made one so I decided to try this one and it is the best I have ever tasted!!! Everyone loved it!!! I did have to double the icing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States