Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Kim C
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
We really liked this recipe. I used butter instead of shortening (personal preference). I followed the recipe exactly. I used Pam's flour cooking spray and had no problems with the layers coming out of the pans or breaking apart. I did have to double the frosting to have enough to put on the whole cake. The only thing that I would change next time is to use less coconut but that is just for my own personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Eventhough I followed the recipe exactly, this cake was not moist at all. I was rather dry and course. I used foil baking pans...I wonder if that made a difference. The frosting was great though. I'm still looking for a cake that is moist to compliment the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
Absolutely wonderful. I am not an experienced baker so I was suprised when everything turned out perfect. Will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I haven't even made the icing yet. I just took it out of the oven and leveled one of the layers. This is the BEST scratch cake I have ever made. This one is definitely going in the recipe box. The fat content is well...OUCH! But taste and texture make this a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I was told this was THE BEST cake I've ever made- and I'm an avid baker! I added 1 tsp of coconut flavoring along with the vanilla. Very light, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I made this cake without the almonds or the coconut as a base for a strawberry flavoured poke cake with instant pudding vanilla icing for my mother's birthday, and it was a hit with the entire family, both young and old (and those in between). I received many compliments on it and was asked for the recipe. I'm anxious to try the full recipe next time. I lined my pans with parchment paper as suggested by others and had no difficulties with sticking, however I did have to leave it in for a few minutes longer than called for, but that was probably my oven at fault, not the instructions. Thank you for a great new favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I am a novice baker, but this cake came out wonderfully. I received many compliments and am making another this week!! I did leave out the coconut since I have some finicky eaters in my crowd. This cake was moist and delicious. I greased and floured my pans and only had issues with one sticking, but I am pretty sure it stuck because of my impatience with letting things cool properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Update: my husband has just dubbed this his favorite cake in the whole world.... :-) Husband's first word was "WOW!" We both gave this five stars. Very moist and yummy. I baked it in a 10" spring form pan and then sliced the cooled cake in half to fill. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This cake turned out wonderful- my only suggestion would be to use parchment paper to line the bottom of the plans. I greased the plans, and let the cakes cool overnight-- but they still stuck, which caused my cake to come out lopsided! It was still delicious though- I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Absolutely perfect! My family who doesn't like pecans, loved this cake! I didn't put the pecans in the icing, I just chopped them up pretty small and put them on the sides of the cake and on the center of the cake (a filled in circle) with some coconut around it in a circle. it looked goregeous! i don't know if anyone else knows this already, but i made it the night before, and stored it in the fridge. don't do that. if you just leave it on a cake platter with a dome over it, it stays moist and soft and light. in the fridge, it's still divine, just thicker, heavier, and less moist. ETA: I made this as a 4 tiered wedding cake and it was beautiful! I swirled the frosting and made a ribbon border with chopped pecans on each tier. It was devoured by all who came. The bride and groom said that when they ate their top tier a year later (after being frozen for a whole year) it tasted like I had just made it that same day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States