Italian Creme Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I halved the recipe and it worked out great as one layer in a 9 inch cake pan.I halved it becaue I was afraid I'd eat the whole thing, lol I cooked for about 40 minutes though. The cake was very moist and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Cuenca, Azuay, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Very easy to make, I made it for a holiday party. Everyone loved it. I used all purpose flour so it wasn't as fluffy as cake flour but it didn't seem to change the taste just the texture. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this today for a family get together, and brought home a nearly empty plate! I did have to bake the cake a bit longer, about 5 minutes or so to make sure it was done. Also, I didn't have quite enough pecans for the frosting, I only used about a 1/2 cup and it was fine. For those folks that aren't big cream cheese fans, the flavor of it in the icing isn't strong. I was told this is a recipe I need to make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This recipe didn't work for me, though I admit I was using an oven foreign to me. I am an experienced cake maker and this was NOT what I was looking for, at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was the best cake I have ever had in my life,everybody loved it and it was fun to make and yes I will make this cake again. Now lets get to the cream cheese frosting it was to die they both were just so good and I must say if I could say 5 stars no this has to be more like 105 stars atlease I think so and I Think you so much for your post. TERRY137
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
It was good at first, but after a few days it was amazing. The cream really got absopbed and it was a great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
moist/the coconut i half it,plust the pecans i half;i just added after i place the topping a 1/4, or just enough to cover of a cup of pecan on the side, and place just a little coconut on top of the cake(enough to cover) i love how it taste and it melts in you're mouth,i could eat it without the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Turned out wonderful. I made it exactly how the recipe says, only I put the pecans on top of the icing (top & sides) instead of in the icing. It was beautiful and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This cake is phenomenal. I'm definitely going to add it to my keep box. I am overly picky when it comes to finding cake recipes from scratch that I like so, THANK YOU for posting this. I would make one suggestion which is to use Cake Flour in place of the all-purpose flour. The difference in the gluten content in the cake flour, it will give a lighter fluffier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe. I made it for my husbands birthday and now he requests it for every special occasion. I would use the parchment paper in the bottom of the pans to ensure that the cakes don't stick I neglected to do this the 1st time and did have some problems removing them from the pans. I followed this recipe exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States