Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
I made this for my husband's birthday celebration. I followed the recipe to the letter which is rare for me. After reading all the feed back I couldn't see tampering with what seemed like a perfect recipe. I'm so glad I didn't!!!!!! One suggestion.... We had this at a picnic at the lake in July. I put it in the refrigerator overnight and it held up beautifully. Thank you for the wonderful recipe that everyone from my 9 year old to my 44 year old LOVED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
The only change i made was Mascerpone instead of cream cheese. (Hubby doesn't care for cream cheese frosting). The flavor is awesome, but the cake was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by wendy
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
the whole family raved over this cake..a keeper I promise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hijamom
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
I've never been much of a cake person. I love frosting. I made this cake and am hooked! And so is my famiy. It's even great without frosting, but the cream cheese frosting is now my favorite too. The coconut in the cake gives it a little chew and the nuts a little crunch that are fantastic with the moist, soft yet dense cake. This recipe makes great cupcakes too. A bit more work than cake from a box but soooo worth it. I'll be making this for years, thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is a delicious cake will definitely make it again. I made it for a birthday party and it got rave reviews. I live at 5,200 ft. and as with all the chiffon cake recipes I have, this one came out perfectly using standard altitude adjustments. I did take other's suggestions and substituted almond extract for the vanilla. However, I believe the cake pictured isn't the actual cake. I am pretty sure the picture is of a two layer 9" cake. The three 8" cakes makes a taller and a little messier to cut cake. Also, I decorate a lot of cakes and should have known you can not pipe cream cheese icing made with margarine in a pastry bag with a star tip. I think the icing pictured may be a super stabilized whip cream icing or one like Whole Foods' Chantilly Cake. I also made 1.5 times the amount of icing and had none leftover. There wasn't much leftover cake either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
No problems with the cake itself, but the amount of cream cheese for frosting is incorrect. It is an Icky thick, unspreadable mess unless you use TWO (not one, as stated in recipe) 8 oz. packages of cream cheese. Two star deduction for inaccuracy and inconvenience of having to do a last-minute run to store to fetch more cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMLello
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Followed except for the nuts: put 1 cup finely chopped pecans in batter and used the rest to sprinkle on top of frosting between layers and on the side. Then I added coconut only to the sides and top, with rings of pecans there as well. (I don't like the texture of coconut in the cake.) All 3 layers and frosting just barely fit a standard cake plate and some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I'm waiting for my cupcakes to cool. I have never had such a moist cake in my life!! I'm sure the icing will be fantastic too!!! The only change I made was to whack the pecans a few times with a mug to make smaller pieces. I can't wait until my neighbors taste! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
my family loves this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Great recipe...my boyfriend doesn't like coconut so I took that out... he loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medina Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States