Italian Cream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is a delicious cake will definitely make it again. I made it for a birthday party and it got rave reviews. I live at 5,200 ft. and as with all the chiffon cake recipes I have, this one came out perfectly using standard altitude adjustments. I did take other's suggestions and substituted almond extract for the vanilla. However, I believe the cake pictured isn't the actual cake. I am pretty sure the picture is of a two layer 9" cake. The three 8" cakes makes a taller and a little messier to cut cake. Also, I decorate a lot of cakes and should have known you can not pipe cream cheese icing made with margarine in a pastry bag with a star tip. I think the icing pictured may be a super stabilized whip cream icing or one like Whole Foods' Chantilly Cake. I also made 1.5 times the amount of icing and had none leftover. There wasn't much leftover cake either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
No problems with the cake itself, but the amount of cream cheese for frosting is incorrect. It is an Icky thick, unspreadable mess unless you use TWO (not one, as stated in recipe) 8 oz. packages of cream cheese. Two star deduction for inaccuracy and inconvenience of having to do a last-minute run to store to fetch more cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AMLello
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Followed except for the nuts: put 1 cup finely chopped pecans in batter and used the rest to sprinkle on top of frosting between layers and on the side. Then I added coconut only to the sides and top, with rings of pecans there as well. (I don't like the texture of coconut in the cake.) All 3 layers and frosting just barely fit a standard cake plate and some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I'm waiting for my cupcakes to cool. I have never had such a moist cake in my life!! I'm sure the icing will be fantastic too!!! The only change I made was to whack the pecans a few times with a mug to make smaller pieces. I can't wait until my neighbors taste! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Pope

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
my family loves this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Great recipe...my boyfriend doesn't like coconut so I took that out... he loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Medina Pierce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
With out a doubt the singular best cake I have ever made!!! Not too difficult, most ingredients on hand, impress everyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this cake yesterday and it was a hit with everyone! Instead of margarine, I used butter and replaced shortening with coconut oil. Using unsweetened coconut, i reduced that amount to a scant 1 cup. To make the icing, I used half butter and half coconut oil. Rather than increasing the amount of icing, I used the cream cheese icing between the layers and then whipped 1 cup of heavy cream, unsweetened, and blended that with the remainder of the cream cheese icing and frosted the top and sides with that. Less sweet but still rich and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Kinda bland. Remade the second time with these changes: real butter, 1 cup ONLY toasted coconut, sifted cups of flour, and 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I also like it better with almonds instead of pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Fantastic! I use half almond flour and half white flour. I also use coconut oil in place of the marg/butter. It is perfect. Also, I do believe raspberry jam in between the layers along with the cream cheese frosting and fresh raspberries on top is best! This is the recipe I use every year for my husband's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Janell Paxton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States