Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is an excellent cake! I have made it for many years and it is a hit everywhere!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This is by far the best cake recipe I have ever tried...hands down. Everybody raves about how good it is...definitely a holiday cake recipe to keep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is Emeril Lagassee Recipe right down to the pic, it is a great recipe though.I prefer this one over the II one it is about the same as Trisha Yearwoods funny how all these recipes are from "my Grandma" or someone. Really we all make it about the same. I never use more than 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar in frosting, a box is WAY to much and makes it feel gritty but I like the Italian Buttercream with regular sugar and egg whites for a smooth fantastic frosting try those!! The french bakers don't use powdered sugar and they do have a point it is great. See if you like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
THIS RECIPE MAKES A VERY BIG CAKE! BUT ALL OF IT WAS DELICIOUS! I WOULD RECOMMEND DOUBLING THE FROSTING AND FROSTING THE WHOLE CAKE. MY MOM COMMENTED THAT IT WAS VERY GOOD AND MOIST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I could never understand why people raved about Italian cream cake until I made this one. Now I get it! Absolutely delicious. I used 8" pans instead of 9", (didn't have 9" and did not want to spend the money or have to find a place for 3 more cake pans). It came out fine, just need to check it for time like you normally would. Next time I will add some almond extract as one reviewer suggested. That would be awesome! You can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this cake for my wife & she/we LOVED it! It is DELICIOUS! So moist!! Reminded us of consistency of really good & heavy banana bread. I'm a rookie baking so I followed the much appreciated tips other reviewers submitted. Here's what I did. I followed the recipe & measurements except as follows: I used 2 cups of cake flour (can't find any?? find recipe for it on side of a Argo corn starch container), 1 cup of pecans in batter rather than walnuts, no coconut in batter. For the icing I doubled the amount of cream cheese (16 oz total) & left the sugar & butter measurements the same (totally sweet enough still). Then I put the one cup of coconut & 1/4 cup of pecans on a flat pan on top rack of oven @ 400 degrees for less than 4 min (til the coconut JUST starts to brown). Then I put this on JUST the top of the icing on top of the cake only. I had the pure cream cheese icing on the sides of the cake. Beautiful, delicious! (I'm not a fan of coconut, but toasted I think it has a good flavor, esp w the pecans!) I baked the cake for 25 min in 3- 9 inch pans sprayed w baking spray, then floured. I did toss the cakes in the freezer for 20 min to cool em down so I could hurry up & put icing on them. My wife is a expert cook & I blew her socks off with this recipe! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
this cake is awesome. i doubled the frosting and frosted the whole cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
So delicious!!! My family devoured this cake. Followed cake recipe exactly. It turned out perfectly. On frosting I doubled the cream cheese as some others did, and used 3 cups of powdered sugar. Just right. This cake was heavenly. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newfad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
BEST Italian Cream Cake Recipe - tried other recipes but this on is THE Best (has less oil & more buttermilk, creamier, not as oily). FOR CHRISTMAS-- This is a versatile recipe - great like it is with the nuts and coconut. However, the 2nd time I made it, I added to the batter (instead of pecans & coconut): 1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries, 1/2 cup chopped toasted almonds, 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips (Combine in a small bowl with a little flour to help distribute evenly & add to batter after folding in the stiff egg whites). Sprinkle more on top of cake for garnish. This tastes like Cannolis with the cream cheese frosting. I also added 1 tsp. almond flavor to the batter. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Nice Cake. Mine was a little sloppy lookin but the flavor was good. Next time Ill be sure to ice all the way around the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States