Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I came here looking to find my lost Italian Cream Cake recipe, this is it! I use Pecans instead of Walnuts, they are sweeter, and a touch of almond extract 1/4 tsp. But the special extra here is the butter instead of shortening called for in the other receipies. MMMMMM and better for you! I beat my egg whites until firm but not dry and fold carefully into batter. I probably use a full 1/2 cup of pecans also. Keep this refrigerated after baking or it will just literally melt in your mouth. Soften that butter before mixing too. You can use low fat cream cheese if you are cutting a few calories although you really won't notice them much. This one is a diet killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Chantel I think I love you! This is the absolute best recipe in the world. I always try tons of recipes till I find the perfect one, this is it, follow the recipe add a little less powdered sugar if you want. Another member said hers was a flop, you need to grease and flour your pan, never rely on only spray, let em cool quite a bit before you dump them out, and you have to wait until the cake is completley cooled to frost it, the icing is butter and cream cheese (and to die for) it will melt right off if the cake is not cool. I doubled the icing recipe, pile that stuff on there, ice all of it, that's the best part! Throw in lots of pecans (In love with nuts)unbelievable!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This was an addictive cake. It got more moist the next cake. I used less sugar and put toasted coconuts on top of the frosting. Double maybe even triple the cream cheese but no need to double on the butter or sugar in the frosting recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe, but be sure to beat the egg whites TO STIFF PEAKS! I made two cakes for my parents' 40th anniversary party--the first one was great but the second I got yolk mixed in with the whites, they didn't form peaks and the texture was markedly doughy. Luckily, I only needed one piece from the second cake! Also, I doubled the frosting as others did so the sides would be frosted, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Fantastic!!! I doubled the frosting, I added pecans to the frostings and decorated with some on the outside. I made this for my aunts birthday, she loves Italian cream cake, they ordered one from her favorite bakery and I made one too, mine put the bakery cake to shame, I even got emails telling me how good this cake was, excellent, the frosting makes it so don't use any other kind of frosting on this cake or it will not be as good. Super!! Oh yeah I cut down the powdered sugar, I put in a cup "less" than called for in the frosting, it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I have made this recipe many times and most recently for an "end of class, we made it to graduation" celebration. Everyone just raved over it and I've had many people want to pay me to make them for anniversary, wedding, and birthday celebrations as well. This is the best recipe I have ever used. I do not use walnuts but use pecans (chopped) and stirred into both the batter and the frosting. Use less powdered sugar and I toast the coconut before using it in the batter and sprinkle the top. Yummers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISKEYRIVER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Wonderful recipe! Doubled the frosting and substituted pecans for walnuts. Huge hit at the office! Positively a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Delicious and different from the norm, at least for me. The cake came out perfect - the first time. It was moist and perfectly sweet. If you're considering this as I was, I would highly recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danflores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
The recipe sounded interesting so I thought I would try it. It was VERY good! I took it to work and my co-workers loved it. It was even better after a couple to days. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marketa
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I first made this for a dinner party and everyone raved about how delicious it was and have been making it for Birthday's, Baby Showers, etc. ever since. For those who don't like it too sweet, it's also great with less confectioners's sugar in the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marketa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States