Italian Cream Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
This cake was a disaster on so many levels. I admit I don't know what Italian Cream Cake ought to taste like, but surely it should taste better than this...? I followed the recipe, beat the egg whites to stiff peaks, used Wilton pans, didn't add any funny stuff to the batter, and my layers got stuck to the pans, the frosting doesn't stick to the cake, and the cake itself is like a cocnut version of carrot cake, except with next to no coconut flavor. This was a waste of time and money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faifai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This is a great recipe, but be sure to beat the egg whites TO STIFF PEAKS! I made two cakes for my parents' 40th anniversary party--the first one was great but the second I got yolk mixed in with the whites, they didn't form peaks and the texture was markedly doughy. Luckily, I only needed one piece from the second cake! Also, I doubled the frosting as others did so the sides would be frosted, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Fantastic!!! I doubled the frosting, I added pecans to the frostings and decorated with some on the outside. I made this for my aunts birthday, she loves Italian cream cake, they ordered one from her favorite bakery and I made one too, mine put the bakery cake to shame, I even got emails telling me how good this cake was, excellent, the frosting makes it so don't use any other kind of frosting on this cake or it will not be as good. Super!! Oh yeah I cut down the powdered sugar, I put in a cup "less" than called for in the frosting, it was plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
this is the best cake recipe ever!!!! the butter in the recipe is better than the shortening in the others. I bake this for every special occassion or b-day. it gets devoured! ummm...tips? get the wilton cake pans, soften the butter & the cream cheese and i dont like to use so much confectioners sugar in the icing. its not necessary, plus it starts to get a funny taste. but you can double up on the cream cheese vanilla and butter if u like a lot of icing between the layers... make sure when doubling up u add the confectioners sugar to taste...like i said u dont need all that sugar! It is deeeelicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Wonderful recipe! Doubled the frosting and substituted pecans for walnuts. Huge hit at the office! Positively a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
i had one from texas and it was good.thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
I came here looking to find my lost Italian Cream Cake recipe, this is it! I use Pecans instead of Walnuts, they are sweeter, and a touch of almond extract 1/4 tsp. But the special extra here is the butter instead of shortening called for in the other receipies. MMMMMM and better for you! I beat my egg whites until firm but not dry and fold carefully into batter. I probably use a full 1/2 cup of pecans also. Keep this refrigerated after baking or it will just literally melt in your mouth. Soften that butter before mixing too. You can use low fat cream cheese if you are cutting a few calories although you really won't notice them much. This one is a diet killer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This was a very good cake, but I don't think I beat my egg whites long enough. The reecipe didn't specify how long or to what consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Great sandwich and soo easy. MAke sure skillet/griddle is at a low enough temperature so you don't burn the bread but still melt the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
I made this cake for my mom's 74th birthday party, and everyone loved it! It turned out very moist and was a big hit! I added a bit of vanilla to the cake batter, and it tasted great. The cake itself is not very sweet, but the icing more than makes up for it. They complement each other very well. My egg whites never stiffened up, so I was a bit worried about how the cake would turn out, but everyone raved. I would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States