Italian Country Style Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was a super easy idea with great flavor. I browned the ribs and after doctoring up the jar sauce threw it all into a crock pot for the day on low, and it came out wondeful! Reminded me of Grandpas special sauce with spare ribs! Terrific over noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Hi there, This looked too simple. But it is a great one!! I kicked up the sophistication with onion, garlic, red wine and fresh tomatoes - but not because the recipe needed it! I picked an interesting spaghetti sauce too - and got rave reviews!!! Thanks to everyone for their suggestions like extra browning and being adventurous - you will not be able to wreck this recipe!! Easy and great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
great, added mushrooms and used can of dixed and stewed tomatoes and only a can of tomatoe sauce...great...hmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
These ribs are the greatest. They melted in my mouth. My husband loved them!! I added fresh sliced green peppers, onions, and mushrooms. The sauce was just right, not too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
This was a snap to prepare, and is the definition of "comfort" food. It is something my mom would have made on a cold, winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Very easy to make! Next time I'm going to reduce the water. I added 1/2 can of tomato sauce, 1/2 chopped onion, two cloves of garlic - minced, 2 chopped tomatoes, and a couple of dashes of chili powder, salt and pepper. When I browned the ribs, I also seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and chili powder. I served it over some whole wheat spaghetti noodles, and for the carb conscious I served the ribs (hardly any extra sauce) on some roasted zucchini. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dulce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
YUM! I took this idea, but did it slightly differently...I seasoned the ribs w/ garlic powder, salt and pepper and browned them in evoo. After they were browned, I transfered them to my slow cooker and topped them w/ a jar of pasta sauce (omitting the water). I set the slow cooker to low and allowed them to cook for 8 hours. These smelled soooo good while cooking and they were perfectly moist, tender and delicious...literally fall-off-the-bone DELICIOUS! When my mom makes her homemade pasta sauce, she always browns some country ribs and lets them cook in the sauce for flavor...then we get to eat them. This reminded me of that, and that was just what I was looking for (don't tell her, but mine were even more moist and tender, lol)! I will def make these again, just like I did today! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I was tired of barbeque so I tried this. I fed it to a construction crew. They could not get enough and nothing was left. I used Emeril's kicked up sauce, onions, garlic and mushrooms with burgundy wine and a touch of brown sugar to cut the acid in the sauce. MMMM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2003
Easy and absolutely delicious. Brown ribs extra well for flavor bonus. Definately comfort food. I find this even better as slowly warmed leftover. (You might want to reserve a little uncooked bottled sauce to thin out leftover sauce.) I like with buttery mashed potatoes and a good sprinkling, at service, of chopped flat leaf parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Great recipe! We had a ton of fresh garden tomatoes, so I cut the amount of spaghetti sauce in half, to 16 ounces, and added 16 ounces of fresh juicy chopped tomatoes. I also added some garlic, paprika, oregano, red pepper and basil. Yum! I couldn't stop eating the sauce when I was stirring it. My husband and 3-year-old liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

BBQ Country Style Ribs

These ribs bake up deliciously in the oven. Yum!

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States