Italian Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Awesome recipe! I took these in to my Italian class and everyone loved them. The texture is more cake-like than cookie-like. They stayed soft for days and were melt-in-your-mouth every time. I added some almond extract to the glaze, and the flavour was perfect. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
WOW! These practically melt in your mouth! I had some ricotta cheese that I needed to use up, so I thought I'd give these a shot, and I was very pleased. They almost remind me of a cookie that I recall from my childhood that the local Mennonite bakery made, called an Old Fashioned Cream (if anyone knows the recipe for those PLEASE let me know!) Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I have to say that I was a tad skeptical when I read the ingredients. I wanted to make an all Italian dinner with dessert. But these were so good and I loved how simple they were to cook. Great recipe thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Brock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
Perfetto! Every year we put on a little Italian festival at our shop, and are always looking for the right treats to share with our customers. We used to order yummy tiramisu cupcakes, but our baker retired...so we searched at the last minute for a little sweet morsel to serve, and these cookies were perfect! I changed the servings to 96, and we made up a great batch for a crowd (we made them a bit smaller, to stretch it a bit). I did add a bit of lemon zest, which added some nice flavor. Tonight I'm going to make them again (not 96 of them, though!) and I'll add a dash of limoncello. Delizioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is a very moist cookie and I love the texture, but it needs a little more flavor. I think I'll at least double the vanilla next time and maybe add a little almond extract. They really are good, just need a little extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
These were really really good, but I hesitate to call them cookies. They're more like cookie-shaped mini-spongecakes. The pictures show nice lofty round cookies. Mine came out kinda flat. It was probably due to old baking soda, but the flavor was still very good. When I'm in the mood for a cookie I won't make these, but I think they would be wonderful for a baby shower with the icing tinted baby blue or pink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
For what these cookies ARE (they are not sugar cookies, etc), they are amazing. Perfectly soft, coupled with a nicely complementing sweet icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smllover
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
WOW! The taste of this cookie definitely caught me by surprise. I made these for a bbq we were going to and everyone liked them so much there really weren't many left to take with us. Oops! The only thing I changed was to add almond extract to the frosting instead of the vanilla, it was delicious!! I also frosted these right out of the oven to allow the frosting to melt, it takes on a smoother look that way. I think I might have to buy ricotta just to make this recipe now....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smllover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurie
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I loved these cookies! They have a wonderful cake-like texture without being overly sweet. The perfect afternoon tea cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Fabulous cookie! I had some leftover ricotta and found this recipe through an ingredient search. Light, moist, fluffy, and SO delicious, especially right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by southernsara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States