Italian Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Quite yummy and light and sweet. I added 1/2 tsp almond extract for an additional flavor. Makes a TON. (closer to 5 dozen). I skipped the glaze, as I wanted something just lightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
very good. super moist and light. I used almond extract, and vanilla for frosting but I think next time I will use almond for both. I did make the frosting more like a glaze as it is very sweet and the cookie is very delicate both in composition and taste. Will definately make again, kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
These cookies tasted amazing! Soft and creamy. Clearly the only way to explain them. This will be a recipe I pass on to family and friends so they may also enjoy. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
OMG, these were AWESOME! My hubby & 7 year old LOVED them and so did I. Had some left over ricotta & threw these together at last minute. These are forgiving as I didn't have quite enough ricotta so I added a little cream cheese to compensate. Used almond extract in the cookie mix instead of vanilla but used vanilla for glaze/frosting. As others stated, after 10 min they don't look cooked, but they are, just check the bottom. They have a cake-like texture and are simply awesome! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Simply divine! I'm having an Italian themed bunco party and have chosen three of my favorite recipes from this site. Spaghetti Carbonara II, Pesto Torta (layered spread), and these wonderful Italian Cookies. Simple, elegant and ooh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Crabtree

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I made as is, but think they would be great with almond or lemon extract too. Fantastic cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Really great! So soft and moist! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These cookies resemble an Italian cookie my mom makes..but these are better. I've made them twice now. They are easy to make, moist, and are a big hit. I separated the frosting into small batches and colored each batch a spring time color. I frosted them very lightly so as not to overpower this lightly flavored cookie. People liked them frosted and unfrosted, by the way. I always use parchment paper lightly sprayed with Pam when baking cookies. No pan clean-up! My Italian mom asked for the recipe..It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I have been looking for a great italian cookie recipe - mission accomplished, I will be making these every Easter - a new tradition! Used a cookie spoon to keep uniform size, do not add more flour, this is a moist cookie dough. Icing suggestions - made the icing according to recipe, divided into 2 bowls. In one I added 1/2 teaspoon pure almond flavoring, one drop of red food coloring and enough milk to thin to a glaze. The other I added orange juice to thin to a glaze, then dipped slightly warm cookie in glaze. Decorated with various cookie sprinkles, crushed walnuts on orange iced cookies - a pretty and delicious cookie, family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These are pretty tasty. The icing is good, but really sweet so it overpowers the ricotta a bit. It's really optional. Try it both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liesel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States