Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is exactly the recipe that has been in my family for over 100 years. There is one difference that could make this one the VERY BEST.....ADD ANICE instead of Vanilla.. Then you will Not think they are bland. Use a drop in the powdered sugar for the frosting as well. NOW they are the best..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Great, simple recipe. Sometimes we use lemon flavoring, sometimes anise. Our customers love these, and get upset with us if we run out of them. We make up a runny confection sugar glaze in a large bowl with 10x sugar, milk and flavoring. We dump a bunch of the cookies in, place them briefly on racks to drain most of the excess glaze, and then place them on wax paper sheets to dry. After a couple hours, we turn them over to let the bottom dry. Greeeaaattt cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
tHESE COOKIES ARE JUST SUPERB!!! THEY WERE EASY TO MAKE AND I JUST DROPPED THEM WITH A MELON BALLER ON THE GREASED COOKIE SHEET. THEY ARE LIGHT AND NOT TOO SWEET. GREAT WITH COFFEE OR STRONG TEA. JUST THE BEST ITALIAN RECIPE I HAVE EVER MADE. THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS WITH THE WORLD. WE LOVE YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
I have asked around for years for this recipe! An Italian neighbor used to give these to me as a child. I glazed them with confectioner's sugar and milk, then added sprinkles. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My grandma, mother and aunt (all now deceased) used to make cookies like these all the time, but I never made them. I just made a batch of these for a party, and they were a BIG hit.. and my sister thought they even tasted better and lighter than my mom's! (a VERY big compliment!). I used anise flavoring and a little vanilla since that's the taste I remember growing up on. And after rolling dough with my hands into a rope about 6" long, I put one end over the other (like a ribbon). 10 min on parchment paper worked perfectly each time. (just a light golden brown on bottom and cookie top is very white-- which is deceiving. Glad I wasn't tempted to continue baking them!) After cooling, I mixed conf. sugar, milk, and anise extract (a little lemon extract too) and put a light glaze on 'em using my fingers..then colored sprinkles. They looked great and tasted even better.. THANKS SOOOO much for this recipe that I intend to use for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
The best cookies I have ever made, my whole family loved them. I just added some cream after they had been baked (milk and sugar mixed together untill creamy) and sprinkles to make it an official italian cookie. Made my mouth water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Tastes just like my grandmothers! We called them tra-la-la's. Just e-mailed the recipe to my sisters. I used parchment paper and mine took more like 9-10 minutes. Thankyou - Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krabtart
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were AMAZING! I made them for my italian grandma and she loved them. I used anise extract instead, and they tasted just like I remember. I dipped the cookies in a confectioner's sugar glaze and added sprinkles on top, too, and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krabtart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Just like I remember! I've been yearning for this recipe for years. These cookies are perfect--lightly sweet, soft with just the right ammount of tooth. I made a glaze of powdered sugar, melted butter, milk, a wee pinch of salt, and vanilla. mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
This cookie recipe is EXCELLENT!! Thank-you for posting it. I have been wanting this recipe for the longest time but my relative said it was her top secret recipe and she would not share. I cant wait to see her face when she comes over and sees these cookies in my cookie platter. They are so easy and sooo delicious. Both my husband and daughter love them. Thank-you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States