Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
I have asked around for years for this recipe! An Italian neighbor used to give these to me as a child. I glazed them with confectioner's sugar and milk, then added sprinkles. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
Cookies tasted like sweet biscuits, not like cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
This cookie recipe is EXCELLENT!! Thank-you for posting it. I have been wanting this recipe for the longest time but my relative said it was her top secret recipe and she would not share. I cant wait to see her face when she comes over and sees these cookies in my cookie platter. They are so easy and sooo delicious. Both my husband and daughter love them. Thank-you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
I must have done something wrong because these cookies were pretty blah. The best part about them was the icing -- it at least added flavor. I am a shortbread/butter cookie fan but these did nothing for me (or the guests to whom they were served).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! These cookies are just like the ones my Great-Grandmother used to make when I was a child and I've been searching for the recipe for many years! FYI to those who find them bland, they are usually dunked in coffee, although I love the subtle, not-too-sweet flavor of these wonderful cookies, even without frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
YUMMY!! SOOOOOOO GOOOOOOD.. These cookies were incredible they reminded me of the cookies I used to get back home in NY. This is a sure keeper. Living in Alaska there's no real authentic Italian bakeries (help!) All I need is a cup of espresso and your delicious cookies and I'm good to go.. Do you by any chance have any recipes for cannolis? hee hee.. Thank you for sharing your awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Tastes just like my grandmothers! We called them tra-la-la's. Just e-mailed the recipe to my sisters. I used parchment paper and mine took more like 9-10 minutes. Thankyou - Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
I enjoyed working with this recipe - thank you for sharing. They are time consuming, but the finished product is a soft, not-too sweet, cookie that holds it shape well for decorating. As a person with an Italian heritage, I was looking for some italian cookies to make for christmas time, and these worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
tHESE COOKIES ARE JUST SUPERB!!! THEY WERE EASY TO MAKE AND I JUST DROPPED THEM WITH A MELON BALLER ON THE GREASED COOKIE SHEET. THEY ARE LIGHT AND NOT TOO SWEET. GREAT WITH COFFEE OR STRONG TEA. JUST THE BEST ITALIAN RECIPE I HAVE EVER MADE. THANK YOU FOR SHARING THIS WITH THE WORLD. WE LOVE YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is exactly the recipe that has been in my family for over 100 years. There is one difference that could make this one the VERY BEST.....ADD ANICE instead of Vanilla.. Then you will Not think they are bland. Use a drop in the powdered sugar for the frosting as well. NOW they are the best..lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States