Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very good, easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
My grandma, mother and aunt (all now deceased) used to make cookies like these all the time, but I never made them. I just made a batch of these for a party, and they were a BIG hit.. and my sister thought they even tasted better and lighter than my mom's! (a VERY big compliment!). I used anise flavoring and a little vanilla since that's the taste I remember growing up on. And after rolling dough with my hands into a rope about 6" long, I put one end over the other (like a ribbon). 10 min on parchment paper worked perfectly each time. (just a light golden brown on bottom and cookie top is very white-- which is deceiving. Glad I wasn't tempted to continue baking them!) After cooling, I mixed conf. sugar, milk, and anise extract (a little lemon extract too) and put a light glaze on 'em using my fingers..then colored sprinkles. They looked great and tasted even better.. THANKS SOOOO much for this recipe that I intend to use for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumbleinmytummie
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
LOVE this recipe! Instead of vanilla extract, I use TAHITIAN VANILLA, which has a cherry-like, licorice, or raisiny taste not unlike anise (seen in other recipes for Italian cookies.) I bought the sample vanillas from vanilla.com and got Tahitian, Mexican (best in uncooked recipes such as chocolate truffles, etc) and classic Bourbon) The Tahitian is perfect in this recipe! I used a glaze of 2 TB milk, 1 cup confectioners and 1/2 tsp Tahitian vanilla: dipped cookies in and flipped back over to dry on a cookie rack with parchment underneath to catch the drippings.) Sprinkled with multicolored non-pareils while still wet, but great without as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumbleinmytummie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is my favorite recipe, it's the best. I used anise flavoring in the dough and in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I finally found the Italian Cookie recipe that I've been looking for. I tried other recipes and was disappointed. I added almond extract to the dough and frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I love these cookies, they remind me of my childhood! I used lemon extract in the cookies and the glaze the first time I made them, next time I am going to use almond since that is the flavor I grew up with. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy061601

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
These have been in my family for generations as well. We add rum flavoring and walnuts they are a favorite with all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Came out as expected, only I'd never use Anise again...most likely Vanilla in the future. Older members of the household enjoyed them, but was too licoricey for the younger crowd. Used powdered sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are a little bland even after adding extra vanilla (and cherry flavoring once )but the kids still seem to love them.It may be the colored sprinkles that attract them though. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Great !! We add a hershey drop to it and the kids love them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States