Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I have been trying to get this recipe from my Mother in Law for 7 years. She is "old school" and never measures anything so it was hard to figure out how much of anything to use. I tried them this evening and they are just like hers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Awesome cookie! I was initially surprised that they were not that sweet. They kind of tasted like a sweet biscuit. I then added the glaze from the Italian Cookies II recipe on this website. These were devoured and everyone raved!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
These are so good. I substituted canola oil for the butter and used almond flavoring. I was hoping to use almond oil the next time, but with the high price of that, I think I'll stick with the canola oil and just increase the almond flavoring the next time. My husband thoroughly enjoys these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Very light and tasty. I used a half cup less flour than called for and the dough was still extremely stiff. Added a tsp of almond. Added the confectioners glaze. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RachelD
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make and best of all required ingredients I had in my pantry. I have never tried these cookies before, so I am not sure how this one stacks up against others and am still getting used to the cookie itself. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Illesheim, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Thank you so very much for this wonderful I've been looking for this exact base for the longest time. Delicate texture and flavor. I just added the zest of one orange and exchange 1 tsp vanilla extract for 1 tsp almond extract. I dunked them in a glaze of 1 cup powder sugar, 2 tbs milk, 1 tbs orange juice! Fabulous cookie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I loved the simplicity of the recipe & the flavor& texture of the cookie. I used almond extract & vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CraftyGourmet
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These are very delicious, they have the authentic flavor and texture that I remember from my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraftyGourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
These came out GREAT!!!I will be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I have made these 3 times now and they are always wonderful. I can't praise them enough. They disappear and that is the best review anyone can give!! I love them with confectioners sugar glaze and those adorable colored sprinkles. I have a 7 month old son and I can't wait til he is old enough so I can make these for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States