Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I'm not a baker, This recipe was easy and the cookies turn out very good. I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dgenco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
i gave this a 4 star because i make one almost the same but a little different! if anyone wants to try mine its very easy to make and the same directions but the ingredients is different ....i know it sounds like alot but they are sooooo good....51/2 cups flour and 2tbsp baking power set aside,3/4cup milkset aside,mix 1 1/2 cup oil,1 1/2 cup suger,1tbsp almond extract ,4eggs until blended ,now start adding 1/2 the flour mix until mixed then 1/2 milk until mixed then repete with the flour and milk until all is mixed together good,roll into balls put on a baking sheet andbake for 5mins at 350 move to a different rack then bake for about 5 more mins or until bottom is light brown, let cool and mix confection sugar and milk (you want it thick) make sure and not to let icing harden or the candy's wont stick dip in icing and put candy or sprinkles and enjoy!!! make alot great for the holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These are NOT Italian cookies like we remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These are wonderful, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I must have done something wrong because these came out horrible. I was hoping they would be like the ones my grandmother used to make but these were actually tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
These were not what I expected, and I am glad to say I was pleasantly surprised. Having never tasted and having no idea what an italian cookie or even a tea cake was, I thought the amount of sugar added was a little sparse. However, the flavor of the cookie was perfect after a nice, spicey dinner, and its mildness went very well with my after dinner tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I dont understand the part after shaping the cookies into a ball that you roll it into a loop? Can anyone explain?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunsetangel22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
these were the best for coffee cookies!!! And yes i noticed that all the pictures show round cookies. I made them the way the whole recipe says and to me they looked like ribbons. very good and easy to make will make again very soon, like tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
These are not an overly sweet cookie, but are very good. I made them for my son to take to an Italian themed celebration at school (you know, "Mom, I need to take something for the party TOMORROW.") The kids devoured them. What puzzles me is that every other picture submitted shows round cookies. The recipe does say to form the dough into walnut-sized balls, but it then says to roll it out and form it into a loop. Did anyone else notice this? Seems they all stopped before the final step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I was just wondering if there was another name for this cookie? They look just like the ones my grandma used to make at christmastime, only she called them sucadines (SOOK-A-DEENS). Just wondering if anyone's heard of them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States