Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by krabtart
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
These were AMAZING! I made them for my italian grandma and she loved them. I used anise extract instead, and they tasted just like I remember. I dipped the cookies in a confectioner's sugar glaze and added sprinkles on top, too, and they were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krabtart

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
these were pretty good. But not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This recipes is very good. I had my grandmothes recipe and this year I couldn't find it in my recipe box. This recipe was the closest and the cookies came out fantastic. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tigweldkat
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I make these every year for my uncle's birthday (they are his favorite) I frost them with a powdered sugar/cinamon/milk glaze. Great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Oh My Yum! My teenage sister, and baby daughter (4 yrs old) had a blast doing these!!! They came out perfect! Thank you so much for sharing, a new Christmas tradition for our little Italian family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Corsilli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The cookies are very, very good. Great for dipping in coffee, or eating while having a tea party :)! I used one teaspoon anise extract and one teaspoon vanilla extract instead of the two vanilla to give it a twist. You can actually use about half of a walnut (unless my walnut size estimate was just too big), and roll out into a very long skinny cigar, then twist to fold over. Very nice. Great plain or mix up a little orange juice and confectioner's sugar to dip for a light glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
JUST SUPERB AND EXACTLY WHY I LOVE ITALIAN COOKIES BETTER!! (AND I AM UKRANIAN BUT VERY PARTIAL TO THESE ITALIAN BEAUTIES. IT IS A GREAT DESSERT BUT NOT SO SWEET IT IS SICKENING AND YOU WISH YOU NEVER ATE IT. I DID DIP THEM IN CONFECTIONARY SUGAR WITH ORANGE JUICE ONLY IN IT TO MAKE IT WATERY RIGHT OUT OF THE OVEN AND THEN SPRINKLED THEM WITH EITHER COLORED SUGAR OR CRUSHED WALNUTS WHICH WERE REALLY GOOD TOO!! GREAT TO HAVE WITH TEA/COFFEE AFTER A MEAL AND NOT FEEL LIKE YOU ATE TOO MUCH!!!! UNDERSTATED BEAUTY!!!!!! THANKS FOR SHARING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These are really nice cookies! Very light barely sweet cookie. Perfect with coffee in the morning. I made a double batch as directed and after 1/2 the batter was used I then added crushed anise seed to the rest of the batter. The cookies with the anise seed turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jooleejules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Hi there...........I am so happy to have found this recipe.......i have a similar one but can't find it! Brings back memories of my childhood......gramma's house! Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Luv them!!!! u should try cream filling or pudding. (ya pudding...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States