Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I started a holiday home bakery last year and chose these little cookies as one of the recipes because of it's rating, and everyone raving about it's authentic Italian taste. However, I had the hardest time baking them to taste consistently delicious. One batch would be perfect, the next burnt, and the next would take twice as long to cook. 9/10 the dough was so dry and crumbly it was hard to form anything out of it. This year, I decided to do some research and I found a few specific instructions to follow. It may be common baking sense, but I am a bit of a beginning. First of all, I tried Almond and Anise extract for the cookies, and it didn't taste as good. Vanilla extract is THE BEST for the cookies and icing. Secondly, the recipe says to "cream" the eggs and sugar. To do this, cube the softened butter and mix it until there are "peaks" in the butter. About 1-1.5 minutes medium on the mixer. Slowly add in the sugar until the mixture has almost doubled in mass, it is a light yellow color and you can see the peaks. Beat in the eggs one at a time, as well as the vanilla extract. Sift the flour and baking powder together and SLOWLY mix it into the wet ingredients, making sure it mixes well. Leave mixing until the dough is moist and very well mixed. Make sure there are no ingredients left behind. With the icing, dip the whole cookie in the icing and let them dry. To me, they taste best when they are completely cooled and the icing is set. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe has been a favorite in our family for generations. I am excited to find out that others love it too. We call them Taratalucci Cookies. My family recipe is slightly different so I will try them this way too. Try replacing 1 t of vanilla extract with lemon or orange in the batter, they rock this way and give them more flavor. Then I use the alternate flavor in the icing. For lemon or orange I mix a little orange juice with the powdered sugar add the lemon or orange extract, the stronger the taste the better I also put food coloring to match. For vanilla or chocolate flavor I mix the sugar with a little milk add cocoa or vanilla extract. Top with a candied cherry or a walnut. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Wow these were delicious! Everyone enjoyed them! I used the icing from the iced pumpkin cookies recipe -Do not change this recipe at all! Its perfect. I plan on making more for xmas to give away. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaylx12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
easy and delicious. I topped these with a confectioner's sugar/milk glaze and added some more anise extract and they were very good. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Ok, for me they werent bad but they werent great.They tasted like a sweet biscuit. I will keep searching for an italian cookie like my mom use to make thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Love this recipe. Very easy to make and you can make them any shape you want and add an almond or dried fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These cookies are incredibly easy and delicous! I made them for my family in what seemed only 10 minutes. It took longer to cook them then it did for everyone to gobble them up. I made a glaze out of powdered sugar and whole milk and drizzled it on top of them. Everyone should make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These cookies are amazing :) I followed the directions except I added grated orange to the flour mixture. I also made confection sugar glaze. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robslori13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Very good and very easy cookie. These are not meant to be sweet (even though I accidently added more sugar to the first batch!) I remember eating these when I was young - forgot what I was missing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were ok...didn't really love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States