Italian Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
They should be made with anise, not vanilla. The ones I remember were not this bland or dry. These taste more like dry drop biscuits with frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenore
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Each holiday season I select a new cookie recipe, drop an old one, and keep favorites. This season I started off with your Italian cookie recipe and added a glaze with orange extract. Delicious! Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
The first time I had these were on an Easter mornings. The dough was rolled into ropes which were formed into a circle that held an egg...sometimes dyed...and smaller ropes formed a cross over it. They were iced and sprinkled with the colored tiny sprinkles. To this day I only use the very tiny colored sprinkles! The adults had the plain cookies, I think,but we kids focused on the huge ones....imagine...cookies for breakfast! My kids grew up on the cookies, we make them into balls, or crossed ribbons, square knots for scouts, wreaths at Christmas, we have even braided them if the kids had the patience. Once the dough is kneaded it is easy to manipulate. We usually use anise but lemon and almond work too. I find that people who aren't used to anise prefer the vanilla...or I'd sneak in anise 50/50. And...if you use anise they are better the next day when it gets ripened a bit...put them in a cookie tin. They keep amazingly well and freeze beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
the DOUGH itself is dangerously delicious!... seriously just ate practically half the batch before popping them into the oven lol such an awesome and simple cookie recipe, has left me more than satisfied for my italian cookie craving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Delicious! Brought back memories of my grandmother. I used anise instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made these last night, diden't frost them yet, but they definatly need frosting! I thought it is an awfully lg. amount of flour, for the butter andsugar amounts, and it is. The dough is very dry and very tough to work with, i had to add a little milk.,I wouldn't make these again, without increasing the butter and sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newberrrys

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Millbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Was looking for a recipe for Italian cookies and came across this one. Believe adding 3 tsp anise (rather than vanilla) really makes the cookie taste oh-so-good. Make an icing with confectioner's sugar, milk and 1/2 tsp anise mixture, then sprinkle with red sugar and you'll have great cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Favorite Auntie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Been looking for this recipient and finally found it. MMMM just like Nonna. I glaze mine with icing sugar with milk and a touch of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The dough was very sticky. My rolled up balls weren't perfect because the dough was sticking so bad to my hands. Should I chill the dough beforehand? I do this with other cookies dough, but do not know if it is okay to do it with this dough. The cookies were not dry, which was good. I have to make them again because I used almond extract in place of vanilla and should have realized the extract was 20 years old and imitation, so I didn't have any flavor. I used egg whites instead of the entire egg. Also, I made a glaze of powdered sugar and milk. I dipped it in the glaze after they came out of the oven, and the glaze later melted into the cookie. Anyone know the secret of a perfect glaze on a cookie? Do I cool the cookie and then refridgerate the cookie with the glaze on it? The cookies in the pic are round, yet the directions talk about something a rope. I rolled the dough into small balls. I did a walnut sized ball at first, but I found that the cookie was really big after baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Thank you SO much, C. Davis! This past Christmas, I wanted to make my Italian grandmother's cookies. I always called them her "Italian cookies." She passed away years ago and my mother passed in 2007. I thought my mother had the recipe in her collection, but she didn't. My aunt also didn't have the recipe although she said she'd look. Meanwhile, I did a search here just for the heck of it and found yours. Quick summary: I replaced the vanilla with anise and mixed a little milk with confectioner's sugar and a drop of anise for a glaze. On Christmas, I gave one immediately to my aunt for a "taste test." Her eyes got really big as she said, "You did it! That's the recipe!" Both her and my brother said how good they tasted! Also: for those wondering, this type of cookie is not supposed to be sweet. It's perfect with a cup of good coffee. These were fabulous and they brought back many happy memories. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Italian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States